A Fictional Reality: An Outsider’s Perspective

I have always been a night owl. Whether it’s the late-night book or blog post ideas which spark into life in my mind, or I’m engrossed in a book which distracts me from creeping sleep deprivation and how late it is. However, these have always been for leisure activities. It was Tuesday. I planned to do my first ‘all-nighter’. A title panicked students wish to claim should they need to complete an assignment at the last minute, or for a student journalist, something completely normal when an election or referendum takes place.

Energy and adrenaline came from a variety of places throughout the night, pushing away the tiredness. Lemonade from the student bar was the bubbly sweet tang which stuck my eyes open, and excitable discussions with friends kept my thoughts whirring until midnight. Then, as it went past midnight, the political circus was enough to engage me until the early hours.

The atmosphere was another contributing factor. Jubilant students cheered whenever Hillary Clinton’s face appeared on-screen with the news that she had won another state. Students, united in one clear notion and want for Hillary Clinton to win (save for a few small groups dotted around the bar who backed Trump), had come together to wish America well.

Tea soon replaced lemonade. The lemonade had lost its tang – whether Trump’s creeping victory had soured things or if it was because the drink no longer spiked up my energy levels, I didn’t know.

Caffeine only somewhat did the trick. Defeatism was the avenue to me feeling a little bit tired as the clock moved on to 3am.

I left the bar shortly afterwards as rain battered my black coat. It wasn’t quite the pathetic fallacy. The harsh cold captured some of my attention, but as I walked home, most of my thoughts were elsewhere. How is Trump winning? Why has American politics has become an even bigger topic of interest to us across the pond?

There’s something weird about being an outsider – free to comment on the politics, but without a vote, we can only watch as the results come in. We can only hope for the best for our US friends. The US media bridges the gap across the pond. We watch on, commenting throughout the night. It’s like we’re looking down on them like a father figure. After Brexit, some may see it that way.

I laid in bed. I needed the hour’s sleep. A 9am lecture later meant that I would have to get up at 7am to get ready. As the clock ticked past 5 o’clock, I decided to call it a night. The votes had stagnated, I knew what the result would be, and hoped I would be awake to see the final result to confirm my thoughts.

I was too late. I turned on the BBC to see Trump standing behind the podium, making an impassioned speech as the new president-elect.

*

In the early hours of Wednesday morning, we found out that Donald Trump is to be the 45th President of the United States. Earlier this week, I decided I was going to write a Friday Article on the result, but found that the points I wanted to make were too similar to the ones raised in this video by the spoof reporter, Jonathan Pie. Instead, I thought I’d save my reaction and discuss the US election in this week’s ‘A Fictional Reality’.

2 thoughts on “A Fictional Reality: An Outsider’s Perspective

  1. There is nothing predictable about politics as it can throw a spanner in the works now and then.

    The American people have chosen Donald Trump as the greater of two evils.

    Like

    • Of course – the polls got it wrong. You could argue that this was because of the left shutting down political debate (see a video the spoof reporter Jonathan Pie put up last week) and these silent Trump voters, but I think after Brexit, politics isn’t going to return to ‘normality’ for a very long time.

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

