The Second Year: Flats, Radio and Newspapers

Tonight, I shall be back in Lincoln, ready to start my second year at university. My first year – although it had its ups and downs – led to me making friends for life. I miss them, I miss the beautiful city, and I miss the adrenaline and excitement that comes with studying a journalism degree.


I mentioned this in a recent blog post, but I have a lot to look forward to this year. I become a course representative for my journalism course, start work as the News Editor at the student newspaper and return to hosting my radio show on Siren FM – which I love doing.
There’s that, plus the fact that I’ll be aiming to pass my NCTJ 100wpm shorthand exam. It’s the final exam I need to do and I know it’s going to be hard, but I can’t wait to start working towards it.

The other thing is that I have my own space now. Last year I learned that living in a group flat in student accommodation wasn’t really my thing, and that I still wasn’t ready to move into a house just yet. This year, I’ll be living in a studio, and I cannot wait.

Then again, I know that second year will be busier than last year. This time, the grades count. However, I’ve chosen to study radio, online and ethics amongst the compulsory modules – topics I’m interested in and will enjoy, so whilst it’ll be a challenge, I’ll love every second.

Lastly, I have to talk about Freshers’ Week, which starts tonight. Example, Scouting for Girls and Matt Willis (from Busted) are all playing across the seven days, so it’s fair to say that my Students’ Union did an excellent job with bookings this year. You can read my review of the week in next Sunday’s post. 

Are you off to university this month? What are you looking forward to in this academic year? Who’s playing at your Freshers’ Week? Comment below!

Liam

6 thoughts on “The Second Year: Flats, Radio and Newspapers

  1. I’m heading back to uni in York on Saturday. I had a pretty tough time in first year but like you I’m actually really looking forward to getting back into the swing of it all and catching up with everyone! We’ve got student newspaper elections in week 2 so I’m hoping to shift up a role there which is really exciting. Your course sounds fab – I’m an English student and I absolutely love it, but every time I see journalism modules I want to take them! I hope you have a great start to the year and are happier in a studio – student accommodation caused most of my troubles, so I hope things work out much better for you this year.
    Good luck!
    Lx | Lightly We Go

    Like

    • Oh, best of luck for getting a position on the student newspaper in York! Did you take any journalism modules this year then? I also had some problems accommodation wise last year, so I know what you mean. My studio is great and I love living in it.

      Thank you and thanks for commenting. I hope you have a great academic year too!

      Like

      • Thank you! I’ve been Features Editor through my first year so looking to step up to a higher editorial position if possible – we shall see. No, it’s quite hard for us to switch to modules from different departments and if I’m honest I love my literature modules so much I’d find it so hard to swap out. I guess there’s always postgrad study…
        I’m glad it’s working out for you! Thank you!
        Lx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh wow! Features are great fun. I’ve always been a fan of news articles, but after doing a bit on features last year, I quite like them too. Best of luck with getting a position!

        I see, and that does sound like an option!

        Liked by 1 person

Think Outside the Box...

