Open for business

My business cards arrived yesterday. For a long time, I’ve contemplated getting them. Life as a first year journalism student meant a lot of interviews, networking and work experience placements – all of which could have been perfect opportunities to hand over a business card and build upon a relationship with a contact. However, for a long time, I wasn’t sure about whether this was a business a not, or still one of my hobbies. I wasn’t sure about what it was exactly that I could offer people in terms of services, or what would warrant me needing to create a business card.

The Life of a Thinker is open for business. Photo: Glen Scott on Flickr. Licensed under Creative Commons - https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/legalcode.
The Life of a Thinker is open for business. Photo: Glen Scott on Flickr. Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/legalcode.

Now, I’ve realised that this blog has essentially become more formal in style. Personal posts about how my week are gone, and have been replaced with music reviews, opinion posts and book reviews. I’ve said before in my post, Wavelengths and Automation, about how this blog will move towards becoming an online portfolio to showcase my journalism. Well, with that in mind, it’s about time I start advertising The Life of a Thinker, whilst also offering my services as a blogger and freelance journalist. The first opportunity to do this is at a networking event next month, and I cannot wait.

With that being said, I still have a fair way to go before this site is how I want it to be. Something I’ve always looked into but never gone ahead with is buying a custom URL, and it’s about time I actually bought one. Unfortunately, http://www.thelifeofathinker.wordpress.com is far from a professional URL, and so a custom domain would be more appropriate.

So I’d love to hear your thoughts. Have you got a custom URL for your blog? Where did you buy your domain from? What are your opinions on having a .com or .co.uk website? Comment below!

Liam

7 thoughts on “Open for business

  1. Hey Liam, I think .co.uk better as it shows you’re a UK website (as .com is worldwide I think) but then again .com is better to remember and maybe those worldwide would see it more! What have other bloggers done?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently bought my own domain name, as well as business cards. I’m a fourth year journalism student, but it’s better late than never. I wanted my domain name to be my actual name for better SEO and a more complete web presence. Hopefully it pays off. I purchased it directly from WordPress. It wasn’t available when I first made my blog, but it became available later.

    Like

    • Interesting. That’s the other discussion I’ve been having aside from whether I should get a domain name in general. As you say, a name is better for SEO and ‘a complete web presence’, yet in my case, most of my brand is done with ties to this blog, The Life of a Thinker. I quite like my blog name, and should I decide to buy a domain, it’s what I would go for as opposed to my name, which – in my opinion – doesn’t roll off the tongue as well.

      It’s great to meet another journalism student. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

