Thoughts on Summer in the City 2016

As a hectic schedule combined with really bad writer’s block, my YouTube channel died a slow death a few months ago. Now, after an amazing day at the London-based YouTube convention, Summer in the City on Sunday, my passion for video making has returned.

I had the day off work, and I remembered just how great the convention was last year, so on Saturday I bought tickets to SitC. Also, since my good friend from university, Brandon, was going too, we decided to meet-up and look around together.

Without wanting to repeat what I’ve said in my YouTube video above, I went to two panels – ‘quirky is the new mainstream’ and ‘comedy online’ before looking around the stalls, watching some main stage shows and performances, and meeting so many YouTubers I admire.

Thomas ‘TomSka’ Ridgewell

The atmosphere was electric and it certainly rubbed off on me, as I was buzzing by the end of the day and wanted to make more videos on my channel. I’ve talked in the past about finding a new interest or passion to talk about online, and SitC helped me find it. Thanks to all the creators I met, the organisers and volunteers for all coming together to make a great event.

So what will I be making videos about in the future? That’s to be revealed, but make sure you’re subscribed to my channel so you know when a new video goes up.

Grace and Amelia, also known as ‘The Mandeville Sisters’ on YouTube.

Also, on Wednesdays, I’ve decided that I should include more poetry on my blog. If this little corner on the Internet is meant to be my online portfolio, then it’s about time I returned to writing poems – something I haven’t done in such a long time.


But anyway, when it comes to SitC, it has been phenomenal. From the panels, to the stalls, to the fellow creators, inspiration and kindness was everywhere and it was a great experience.

Have you been to Summer in the City before? Did you go this year? What did you think? Comment below!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

