A possible change in my blog schedule

It’s something I’ve pondered for a while. With most artists releasing new music on a Friday, I’ve been tempted to move my Musical Discovery series from Mondays to the end of the week so I can release tracks on the day they are released. However, this would of course cause problems for my weekly opinion pieces known as The Friday Article, which would need a name change at least. By having my news-based posts on a Friday, I could review the week’s stories and write something that way, as opposed to having it in the middle of the week, when an opinion piece could quickly become out of date.

Photo: Dafne Cholet on Flickr. Licensed under Creative Commons - https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode.
Photo: Dafne Cholet on Flickr. Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode.

Meanwhile, Wednesday posts remain undefined. I recently touched upon this in my post, The Wednesday Problem, but whilst ideally, I would want to post weekly reviews on this day, with university and other things getting in the way, it would be impossible to finish and review a new book every week. Whilst I like Wednesday’s to post an additional Musical Discovery post or talk about blogging, I quite like the multiple series I have going on my blog at the moment.

This brings me on to something I’ve always wanted to return to on The Life of a Thinker. For those who don’t know, I’m mildly deaf/hard of hearing. Therefore, deafness and the deaf culture are both big interests of mine and essentially, part of ‘the life of a thinker’, so why aren’t I talking about them on the blog?

Well, a few months ago, I wrote about my experiences as a deaf person in a series called Deafinitely Challenging. These six posts – created for an assignment in my first year as a journalism student – summed up my main concerns, frustrations and tips as a deaf person. Now, as I think about returning to talk about deafness, I worry that all I’ve wanted to say has been summed up in this series already. Poetry is another thing I’ve considered, but that didn’t work out well last time.

Lastly, I’ve contemplated moving the time my posts are published from 12pm to something a bit later on.  Of course, it’s always hard to predict when everyone will see your post around the world, but in the UK, posts in the evening seem to do better than those in the middle of the day. However, I am also getting back into scheduling tweets, which is doing great things for getting all of my recent posts read. Should I just continue using Buffer, or should I move the time my posts go live?

What do you think? Would you want to read more posts about deafness on my blog? Should I move posts and times around? What shall I write about on Wednesdays? Comment below!

Liam

6 thoughts on “A possible change in my blog schedule

  1. How about talking of people’s reaction to someone who is hard of hearing, understanding the problems that arise when in a noisy environment, realise why ‘pardon’, ‘what did you say again’ is as annoying to the hard of hearing person as it is to the hearing person.

    Like

    • These are very interesting ideas, thank you. I think the first two are great.

      As for the last one, I’m intrigued. Personally, I don’t really find it annoying to ask someone to repeat themselves. If anything, I’m actually really interested and desperate to hear what they said so I can keep the conversation going.

      However, I think poor deaf awareness does lead to a lot of hearing people getting frustrated if a deaf person cannot hear them, which is a shame.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. You could always experiment with posting at different times, see which works the best.

    I would be interested in seeing more posts about the challenges you face as a hearing-impaired person. I love to watch people sign in ASL, many times the hand movements look so graceful. A form of visual poetry, in a way.

    I’d read a while back about BSL, and it was interesting to learn that different countries use different forms of signing.

    Like

    • I suppose I could, and see which time is best. Although, at the same time, people still read it later on in the day, even if they missed the promotional tweet the first time!

      Great! I’ll see what I can do. Yes, it is beautiful and I’ve seen some deaf artists perform using BSL to almost tell a story with their hands – it’s so intricate and wonderful.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. I think 7pm is the best time to post any social media or blog as this is when most people finish work and go online. It would be good to see you write more deaf posts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Think Outside the Box...

