A casual mention on Wikipedia

This post was initially meant to be a reflection on how far this blog has come over almost four years, but as I stared at a blank screen on my computer, I browsed my stats only to see a different site in my ‘referer’ section. It was Wikipedia, and after a quick search for The Life of a ThinkerI saw why.

Yes, I’m on Wikipedia. I made it.

Photo: Wikipedia.org. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Licence
Photo: Wikipedia.org. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Licence – – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/legalcode.

For those curious, my review of Steve Angello’s single, Children of the Wild was quoted and referenced in the Wikipedia article for that song. What surprises me is how I’m nestled in-amongst music magazines and writers who have a much larger following than me. My review feels out-of-place, and so whilst I do think it’s amazing, I’m also find it hilarious that such a casual blogger like myself is mentioned in a Wikipedia article. You can read the article in question here.

I also wanted this post to be about how great the past seven days have been for my blog, and I suppose my mention on Wikipedia was the last surprise this week has to offer.

First of all, I’ll be honest and say that I’m in a weird position when it comes to blogging on The Life of a Thinker. The name of my blog has become a running joke where I mock its pretentiousness and narcissism, but in all seriousness, I don’t even know what ‘The Life of a Thinker’ is supposed to mean anymore.

At the moment, I’ve settled for it being about what has gone on in my life, and a place for me to share my thoughts and opinions. However, as I mentioned in my post, Wavelengths and Automation, I feel as though I don’t share my views on this blog as much as I used to, which I think is because of music reviews and opinion pieces demanding a certain journalistic style. In these posts, I can’t help but feel as though my thoughts are restrained in some way, whilst still being there.

That being said, my Friday Article opinion pieces are by far my favourite series on my blog at the moment. Over the past two weeks, the amount of people who have commented, shared and read the post saying how they found it interesting has really made my week, so thank you all. At the end of this month, I’m close to reaching 10k views in this year so far. I’m only 2k views away from my end of year goal, and I’m edging ever closer to 1,000 followers in total on WordPress. That is unbelievable, thank you.

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

