Longing for a musical transition

Music is a huge part of my life. Since I was around nine years old, I’ve been playing the drums and I even passed my Grade 8 exam in June last year. However, now I am a student at university and I’ve achieved the highest grade possible, drumming has become a hobby – something I can do when I’m home for the summer holidays. Admittedly, my love for music has grown as a listener, but my desire to play a musical instrument has dwindled since I’ve been away from the drum kit for so long.

Photo: Jesse Kruger. Licensed under Creative Commons - https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/legalcode.
Photo: Jesse Kruger. Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/legalcode.

So what now? Well, I’ve heard that it’s easy for drummers to transition from the drum kit to the piano or keyboard. Although I do have a keyboard, I don’t have time for piano lessons at the moment, and have struggled to find a way to teach myself how to play it. Hopefully, after university, I can get round to learning how to play it. I’ve wanted to perform in a band for a long time and whilst a drummer isn’t always required (and certainly doesn’t work as a solo act), playing the guitar or the piano is something I can do on my own.

Aside from playing music, writing songs is something which has always been suggested to me by family members. To be honest, I’ve always wanted to try my hand as a DJ, but lack the technical skills or the equipment. Yet, when it comes to writing an ordinary song, I don’t know where to start.

Granted, as a budding poet I could probably come up with the lyrics, but creating a melody would be the biggest problem. I’ve often heard about songwriters being guitarists and pianists, and so I do wonder whether that is the issue.

I’ve always been a creative person, and whilst my aim to write and publish a fiction book is still ongoing, coming up with my own song may be another avenue I could explore. After years of listening to music and playing the drums, I long for a musical transition.

Do you have any tips for songwriting? Or perhaps you self-taught yourself an instrument? I would love your tips – comment them below!

Liam

9 thoughts on “Longing for a musical transition

    • Oh, that’s great. Do you think that you need to have lessons in order to learn the piano/keyboard, or do you think it can be done by teaching yourself?

      I have heard someone saying that writing a song could be a collaborative effort. I think the issue lies with me being able to come up with the lyrics, but not an original, complex melody because I’m unable to experiment on a piano or guitar. I really must get back to playing with my keyboard…

      Thanks for commenting and sharing your advice!

      Like

  1. Interesting post! ☺️ I’m a drummer, songwriter and I’m producing and arranging for my own band. I play piano too, but drums is my main instrument.

    I have to say, for me lyrics is the hardest part. I wrote some lines here and there, but seldom a whole song. So try to figure out – are you a lyricist or more of a melody maker? Or many both? And then you get in to the realm of arranging, that’s something too!

    My advice would be to experiment a little. To get started, learn som basic music theory and just fool around with the piano. The only way to find out is to try. ☺️

    Another tip. Start with the melody. Put chords and harmony on after words. Then, try to flip the order. Start out with the chords, add a melody. Experiment. Use your smartphone to quickly record and capture your ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Wow, that is a long list of musical experience, haha! It’s great to meet a fellow drummer too.

      This is fantastic. I think I may be a lyricist, but I would like to be a melody-maker too if I can.

      Thank you so much for commenting and sharing these great tips!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sending over your post – it’s very interesting. I think my predicament, however, is learning a new instrument, and writing songs. As a drummer, I am not completely experienced in creating melodies.

      Like

      • Yeah, I see what you mean. Guitar is the perfect instrument fro songwriting, in my opinion. After learning just a few simple chords you can coax out melodies. They are also very portable, so you can zip it out the bag at any moment you are feeling inspired.
        All the best with your journey mate.

        Like

Think Outside the Box...

