Rio, embargo, and Pokémon GO | A Week in Review

Throughout the week I’ve struggled to come up with an idea for today’s post. In the end, I’ve settled for writing about what’s happened in the news and to me over the past seven days. Whilst some of these would have been news stories I could talk about in a Friday Article, I doubt it would be something which would make for a long post. By combining it into one big post, I’ll have a lot to talk about.

Photo: Dafne Cholet on Flickr (changes have been made).
Photo: Dafne Cholet on Flickr (changes have been made). Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode

First of all, I should start with how my week has been. In particular, I have to talk about the two posts I’ve been waiting to write and publish for weeks. Since June 14, I couldn’t wait until this week to finally tell everyone that I met Jess Glynne at the top of The Shard, and share my thoughts on On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher. I managed to keep them both secret, but now I can’t wait to tell everyone I know about both of these things.

In other news, Channel 4 released their video for their coverage of this year’s Paralympic Games in Rio, and it is simply brilliant. I was tempted to write a whole blog post about this, but the fact that it goes against the traditional style of having the BSL interpreter in the corner of the screen is simply brilliant. Hats off to Channel 4 for doing a lot of things to help with the accessibility of their programmes lately.

Staying with disability news, and Justin Tomlinson MP has left the government as Minister for Disabled People at the Department for Work and Pensions. I met the Minister at the Conservative Party Conference last year to discuss issues affecting deaf people and it was really great to meet him. His departure came as a surprise this morning and I’m interested to find out his replacement.

Me meeting Justin Tomlinson last year at the Conservative Party Conference. It's a surprise to see him go.
Me meeting Justin Tomlinson last year at the Conservative Party Conference. It’s a surprise to see him go.

Lastly, I thought I’d end with some thoughts on Pokemon Go! and World Emoji Day – two things I simply do not understand. When it comes to Pokemon, I have never seen an episode, nor have I bought a single game, so I have yet to download Pokemon Go! and probably never will – we’ll see.

As for World Emoji Day, those who know me will know that I don’t use emojis and prefer to use emoticons (which, for those who don’t know, are when you use a colon and a bracket to make a smiley face, for example). I am still stuck in the days of MSN shortcuts, and I’d like to stay that way.

Have you downloaded Pokémon Go? Have you seen the Rio Paralympics advert by Channel 4? Comment below!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

