Writing Update: Stalled progress and sub-plots

A while ago, I talked about how my Sunday posts will only be Weekly Updates when I have something exciting in my life to write about. The lack of these posts recently is down to me being busy with other commitments, which has meant that my writing has had to take a back seat lately and has pretty much stalled.

Writing Update Notepad
Photo: rimse.nefert on Flickr. (Changes to the original image have been made). Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode.

Towards the end of the week, I did have the chance to see where I was at with my work in progress. I added some more information about one of the major characters and now all that is left to do is write the sub-plots and the synopsis.

It’s at times like this where I step away from my laptop and return to my Hogwarts notebook. Sometimes it’s easier to write ideas down on paper without a blank screen staring at you.

Now all characters are developed and with their own aims, conflicts and (possible) resolutions, it’s relatively easy to come up with sub-plots for all of them. I already have a few ideas so now it’s just about developing them further.

Basically, I’m desperate to start writing, but I know that I’m not happy with the plot yet. Until I am, my passion to start writing won’t be completely genuine, and there’s every chance that my inner critic will make me give up on the idea altogether.

So I guess I must keep planning and pushing forward…

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

