Writing Update: The return of my writing mojo

Forgive me if you’ve been reading this blog for a while. You’ll be aware how many times I’ve done this series. I’ve talked about writing my first novel I’m proud of, but then a few weeks into it, I would give up and let the inner critic have his way.

Now, after my first year at university, I was in a bizarre state for a while when it came to writing. I had spent months reading academic books and perfecting my journalistic style, but this meant that whilst I was incredibly passionate about continuing writing, the world of novels and writing fiction became alien to me. This week, however, I like to think that I have my writing mojo back.

Writing Update Notepad
Photo: rimse.nefert on Flickr (changes to the original image have been made). Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode.

I have always been protective of my ideas, so I won’t go into that part of my writing too much. What I will say, though, is that the idea itself has been so hard to get right. From what perspective I want to write the story (first or third person), to the context in which the plot will belong. Each time I have come to write this novel, the plot has developed, characters have become more believable and the new universe they live in has expanded.

At the moment, I am working on the synopsis. There’s always something worrying when it comes to fleshing out the plot. Whilst I can easily translate the idea onto a Word document or onto paper, it would only be in about fifty words or so, which is always disheartening. How can I write a novel when my idea can be distilled into something so short?

Thankfully, fellow writer Liberty over at Liberty Falls Down was able to offer some tips when it comes to fleshing out my idea. This has since helped me massively, and now as I work on the synopsis, there’s plenty of interconnecting subplots involving numerous characters. I’m just trying to tie them all together, and think of more ideas to develop the plot.

I’ve already had some of these moments, and it’s this sense of euphoria which is what I love about writing. It’s hard to describe, but when a plot-hole finally fixes itself with a new idea, there’s this moment of excitement as this opens up new plot points. It’s a wonderful nuclear fission of ideas, mixed with a sense of accomplishment. The first time I had this whilst writing my synopsis, I knew my writing mojo was back.

Now, to write.

How has your week been? What have you been up to? Comment below!

Liam

9 thoughts on “Writing Update: The return of my writing mojo

  1. Loved your choice of words, euphoria,wonderful nuclear fission of ideas.

    What you had was a rush of endorphins in the brain. They are morphine-like chemicals which induce feelings of pleasure. They play an important role in the brain’s reward system,

    Can be addictive!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The nuclear fission metaphor was the only way I could describe how it felt, haha!

      Oh yes, I know all about endorphins – psychology is a little part-time hobby of mine.

      Like

  2. […] Forgetting about my idea for a work of fiction does worry me. One of the ideas I stick by when it comes to writing is that an idea worth writing down is one that won’t go away. Whilst this story has survived many rewrites, due to being so busy this week, other things have taken the forefront of my mind and in doing so, my plot idea has been pushed aside. Does that mean that my story is no longer interesting? Have I lost my passion for my work in progress? Have I lost my writing mojo (something I said had returned in last week’s Writing Update)? […]

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

