The Loss of Fiction

Learning new things has always been something which I’ve enjoyed. I’ve just completed my first year studying journalism at the University of Lincoln, and so academia, education and non-fiction books have been a big part of my life for the past seven months or so. After I’ve finished reading books such as Jon Ronson’s The Psychopath Test and TED Talks by Chris Anderson, returning to fiction feels a little strange.

Books
I’m finally going back to reading fiction books. I’ve missed them, but it does feel strange. Photo: Areta Ekarafi on Flickr. Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode.

However, this has bled into writing fiction as well. Reading is the best way to learn how to write, and unfortunately I haven’t had much time to read whilst up in Lincoln – even when I have, they were mostly non-fiction books. Thankfully, I now have a few months to work through my ‘to-be-read’ pile and I hope that it should kick-start my passion for writing. Then I can return to working on my first proper novel, which has been whirring around in my head for a while now.

Do you have any tips to help me get back into writing fiction? Comment below!

Liam

6 thoughts on “The Loss of Fiction

  1. Even to write a fiction, the book still needs to have some non-fiction facts thrown in as to place the book within a historical timeline, the geo-political events, real-life situations and even the global weather patterns so the story can weave in and out and still engage the reader.

    It is the reason why I avoided reading sci-fi or fantasy books as I could not relate to them at all.

    A good starting point is to research the context which your novel is based around?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true, although I don’t think you’d want to read the book I have in mind – it does have some futuristic elements, haha!

      I do love sci-fi and fantasy novels, although most of the ones I’be read do have this historical grounding you mention, so I suppose that’s why.

      I shall have a think, as the history is an important part of my idea. Thank you!

      Like

  2. Hi Liam! I’m afraid I don’t have any writing tips for you, but I love reading fiction and non-fiction books in tandem – it’s nice to mix things up a little!

    I read The Psychopath Test last year and thought it was so great, Jon Ronson’s a fab writer. Have you read any of his other books?

    Oooh actually, I just thought – I bought a little book the other day called “642 Tiny Things to Write About” and it’s full of little ideas you just have to write something quick and short about. Maybe something like that would help? Sometimes all we need is a little flash of inspiration!

    Rebecca xx
    http://www.thestyleshake.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely, I’m glad to return to fiction. Yes, I have. I’ve also read and reviewed his latest book, ‘So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed’, which is also really interesting. Have you?

      That sounds like a great book and I shall have to check it out. Thanks!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

