Why I will always be a DC Comics fan

It had been on my to-watch list since December, but on Friday this week I finally got round to watching Watchmen – based on a popular comic book series from DC. It’s quite a long movie, but after I finished the film, it became one of my favourite movies, and cemented my belief that DC Comics have the best superheroes.

OK, so before I explain why, I should probably give a nod to Deadpool – my favourite Marvel movie. However, the reason as to why I like it does tie into why I’m not a fan of Marvel’s cinematic universe. What Deadpool gets so right is that it doesn’t take itself seriously as a film, and mocks the over-the-top attitude of Marvel films on the whole. Where Marvel’s films are exaggerated, DC’s movies are often serious in tone.

In both Watchmen and Batman, most of the protagonists are superheroes without superhuman abilities, which I think leads to better characters. Yes, there is Iron Man on Marvel’s side but he lacks another key trait which makes DC’s heroes so interesting. If you look at Batman and Rorschach, their psychological backgrounds are what make them unique individuals. This also leads to the creation of amazing villains as well. I mean, The Joker is without a doubt one of the greatest comic book villains, simply because he is so psychopathic.

Another point to make – where again, Deadpool is exempt from this – is that DC films are dark and gritty in tone. Granted, Marvel’s cinematic universe does target a family audience as opposed to DC, but if superheroes really existed, they wouldn’t be as moral as they are in Marvel movies. Whilst Batman does have a very strong moral compass (a no-kill policy, to be exact), Rorschach’s morals bend a bit (based on the movie). This, combined with visual effects which made me grimace a lot, is far more realistic than Marvel’s universe, in my opinion. Whether that’s because DC’s characters are more human than superhuman, I don’t know. Either way, it’s the fact that DC comic book characters are lifelike, realistic and have an intriguing psychological background which makes them more interesting than Marvel’s superhumans.

What do you think? Which do you prefer – DC or Marvel? Have you seen Watchmen? Comment below!

Liam

4 thoughts on “Why I will always be a DC Comics fan

  1. I agree for the most part, DC is way more dark and edgy, whereas the Marvel cinematic universe seems more aimed at a younger audience. However, I loved Netflix take on Jessica Jones, like Deadpool it had the perfect balance of humour and brutality. I’ve yet to see Watchmen though.

    Roxie | The Beautiful Bluebird

    Like

    • Oh, I forgot about Jessica Jones – that does look very good. You’re absolutely right, the MCU is more for a younger audience and because of that, it lacks realism in terms of plot and character.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • That’s fair enough. I don’t think the DC films lack quality, I just think the movies have darker shots (most scenes are night scenes, with dark lighting as well). There’s not many light-hearted moments during a DC movie.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Think Outside the Box...

