An iTunes lover moves to Spotify…

What if I told you that I’ve mostly listened to music on iTunes for the past few years, with the occasional voucher funding new songs in my library? You’d be right to say that I’ve made quite an expensive mistake – especially when my collection of music on Apple is over 300 albums strong.

Spotify Logo
It’s been a while, but I’ve finally made the switch to Spotify. Photo source: Scott Beale on Flickr. Licensed under Creative Commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode.

Well, after much persuasion, I’ve done something I should have done long ago and moved to Spotify. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’d have seen my Musical Problems post, where I talk about songs which I’m a fan of, but I don’t feel compelled to buy. Now that I have Spotify, I’m free to listen to all of these songs for 99p for three months, thanks to quite a nice deal they have running lately.

I only just bought Spotify last night, but aside from that benefit, there’s also the fact that songs I couldn’t find on iTunes such as Disappointed by Chlöe Howl are available on Spotify. Granted, Taylor Swift still has things to sort out with the service, but I’ve never been that big of a fan of her. Anyway, there’s also the playlist functions, which I am very much looking forward to messing around with.

So what could this mean for Musical Discoveries and the blog in general? I hope that I can start sharing more public playlists with you, and it also means that I can start to look at album reviews now there’s not much of a cost element involved now. Some albums I have been looking at include Galantis’ PharmacyTourist History by Two Door Cinema Club and Caracal by Disclosure. It should also mean that new Musical Discovery posts shouldn’t be a problem, thanks to Spotify’s many playlists – including New Music Friday.

What do you think? Should I do more album reviews and playlists on the blog? Do you use iTunes, Apple Music or Spotify? Comment below!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

