Whatever happened to my YouTube channel?

There was this one time when I had a YouTube channel. It started with a few travel vlogs before my experiences with video journalism during my degree inspired me to do topical videos. However, it’s been around two months since I last uploaded something to my YouTube channel, and I should probably explain why.

I can’t remember who said it, but I heard someone say a while back that YouTube is now split into ‘let’s players’ and vloggers. For the short amount of time that I uploaded videos, I guess I was the latter, and vlogging has a lot of problems if that’s the route you wish to go down.

First of all, you see countless ‘established’ YouTubers telling you the quality of your videos does not matter, and that it’s about the content. However, when I cannot afford the technology, do not own a proper camera and so have to use my phone or laptop, then it can still know my confidence.

Then there’s the fact that vlogging requires interesting content and a regular schedule – two things I was unable to keep up with whilst studying for a journalism degree. I struggled for the first few months, ideas felt forced and eventually the enthusiasm went.

I’ll admit it, and say that my view of YouTube wasn’t healthy whe I first started. I was more keen on monetising my videos rather than doing it for fun and producing the content I wanted – and I hated that.

The content I loved producing was my ‘ThinkerVlogs’, as travelling has always been something which I’ve enjoyed. But, since I don’t have time to travel around much, even that idea doesn’t quite work. I was running out of ideas and practical solutions, and so I gave up.

Maybe one day I’ll travel some more and will be able to return to vlogging. For now, I’ll be ok a break and I felt like it warranted an explanation.

Should I return to vlogging? Do you have any tips? Are you a vlogger yourself? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Whatever happened to my YouTube channel?

  1. While it can be said that YouTube is primarily covered with vlogs and gameplays, I still find that it’s worthwhile to produce something. As I’m sure you’re aware with journalism, networking is incredibly important to finding new people (be it colleagues, clients or just friends) and with YouTube, it’s exactly the same. If you want to try and expand your subscriber growth or just continue making content, knowing that you have an audience or at least /some/ support, then talking to people and exchanging ideas/opinions is the best way to go forward.

    Now, I’m not a vlogger. I started with vlogging when I first opened my channel, but in recent months, I’ve really steered away from it. Vlogging has this big thing of just being standard. They are often very same-y and don’t have much to offer. When I find content creators that make that sort of material, I tend to get disinterested pretty quickly. If you’re going to vlog, you absolutely NEED to have a vibrant personality that can really bring the viewer along with your adventures. The types of YouTubers such as Tom Hooker (OutTheBoxTV), Myles Wheeler (itsamemyleo) and Daniel J. Layton (DanielJLayton) have a great ability to really en-capture the viewer’s attention when they make a vlog, and if you can do that naturally (without putting on a character persona), you’ll really take off. Admittedly, all three of those people are fairly big, but they’re still friendly people who you can casually talk with. I frequently talk to Tom and have met Dan (although never met Myles), and they’re not alone in going with the fact that being friendly and supportive of your audience is the best way to grow.

    I guess in your situation of doing a journalism degree, you probably wouldn’t have the time to network with people and search for other creators (which will probably be the same for me when I hopefully head up that way). My uploads have already stopped being weekly, which gives me a lot of time to focus on more important matters, but it also means that when I do release something, the quality will be a whole lot better than something I’ve only had a week to throw together. Essentially, I think that you still can get somewhere on YouTube without vlogging or gameplay, but it is ultimately harder, especially so if you’re not releasing about five vlogs a week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. I think that’s one of the other issues I wanted to address, actually. If you do choose to vlog or just talk about topics, and slide into a schedule, then you have problems in terms of quality if you run out of ideas.

      Networking and establishing a community on YouTube has been hard for those reasons: I just don’t have the time and even then, I don’t know where to start.

      Looking ahead, I think the idea of reverting back to these travel vlogs may be better – they’re content I actually want to put up, that I’m proud of and aren’t exactly confined to a schedule, which helps.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

