Thoughts on Change: No More Guest Bloggers and Tags

I’ve said a while back about how I want this blog to go in a new direction. Ever since I set up The Life of a Thinker in August 2012 I wanted to use it to develop my writing, and for a long time, the content I was creating didn’t really challenge me or reflect my personality that well (at this point I should ask everyone not to look at my first blog post on here – it is truly awful).

So for a while now I’ve been trying to find a balance between personality and professionalism. Of course, I want these posts to be fun, entertaining and thought-provoking, but for a while this involved me jumping on every possible bandwagon. I’ve finally grown out of it, but for a long time, I was obsessed with ‘blog awards’ and tags, ignorant of the fact that they’re basically blogger chain mail.

It’s because of this, and the simple reason that I’m struggling to think of seven more ‘random facts about me’, that I’ll no longer be accepting blog award nominations. However, this doesn’t mean that I’m not grateful for any future mentions I receive – I really appreciate them, thank you.

Then there are guest bloggers. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a wonderful idea – collaboration is good, right? I’ve had a lot of guest posts on this blog before and I really do think that both parties benefit.

However, in keeping with the theme that I want to move my blog towards a more professional and portfolio-like style, I will no longer be accepting requests to write a guest blog for The Life of a Thinker. Since I now mention this blog during job interviews and applications, it feels bad to have guest written articles on my blog when potential employers etc. are here to read my work.

I know that guest blogs are usually a two-way thing, but I’m still happy to write a post for your blog. I appreciate this all might sound rather selfish – and I’m sorry if it does – but as I look ahead, I want to make some big changes in my writing and the content I produce. For example, I’ve absolutely loved writing my opinion pieces/political articles as they’ve probably had the biggest reactions online.

Some changes are happening to The Life of a Thinker, and I hope you stick around to see them.

Liam

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Change: No More Guest Bloggers and Tags

Think Outside the Box...

