Opening the windows of opportunity…

Sorry for the rather poetic and ambiguous title, but once again, this week was full of incredible opportunities which still excite me as I write about them now.

First of all, more and more events are popping up during the summer holidays, which is something I’m really looking forward to.

Next up, I said in a recent blog post that I had been nominated for an award as part of the Midlands Student Media Awards 2016. In particular, my review of Channel 4’s Humans made the list and I was invited to an awards ceremony in Birmingham on Friday.

At the end of the night, I found out I hadn’t won, but I had been highly commended. I was thrilled and shocked because I seriously didn’t think I would do well anyway. Let’s be honest, who’d be interested in a 1,000 word blog post about artificial intelligence? All entries in the category were amazing so congratulations to all the other finalists too.

Finally, I received a tweet from a friend on Wednesday with some exciting news. In particular, The Independent reported on the National Union of Students cracking down on anonymous social media apps like Yik Yak, and mentioned my article I wrote for the University of Lincoln’s student newspaper, The Linc. So, essentially, I am on The Independent’s website – how cool is that?!

Missed this week’s Brunchtime? Catch up on all previous shows here:

So that was my week – how was yours? What have you been up to in the last seven days? Comment below!

Liam

3 thoughts on “Opening the windows of opportunity…

Think Outside the Box...

