Musical Discovery: ‘No Money’ by Galantis

Galantis has always been teasing me with their music style. Runaway (U & I) had progressive and soulful vocals, but I was then put off by the distorted vocals in the chorus. Meanwhile, Revolution sounded far too similar to Swedish House Mafia’s classic Don’t You Worry Child. But now, Galantis’ new track – No Money – really does stand out in the dance genre and is this week’s Musical Discovery.

Admittedly, No Money also adopts the same style of ‘whiny’ vocal distortion seen in Runaway (U & I), but it is more fitting. Unlike the hard, hazy synth chorus in Runaway, this single has soft, fluttering synth stabs which is always key to a good song in my opinion.

Very much like Peanut Butter Jelly, this song suggests contains repetitive and simplistic lyrics. Whilst it would be nice to see some creativity from a lyrical perspective in this song, it’s not completely essential. In fact, this energy is instead placed into the chorus, where piano stabs combine with a bubbly synth melody and the occasional special effects. If anything, the repeated vocals adds to the idea of this song being a chant or anthem. When you look at the chorus and the lyrics together, there’s certainly a possibility that this song is set to be a summer anthem.

What do you think of No Money? Is it as good as Runaway (U & I) and Peanut Butter Jelly? Could it be a summer anthem? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Musical Discovery: ‘No Money’ by Galantis

  1. I like the song, but does it have a meaning? I mean, when they say No money and I left it all at home, what does it mean?
    thanks

    Like

    • Unfortunately, I don’t know much about the meanings of songs, but I think this song is describing a playground bully-type incident. The bully asks the person for their money, they say ‘sorry I ain’t got no money’ and that they ‘left it all at home’. Why? I think it’s because he’s no longer afraid of them. I just checked Genius and it seems as though they have a similar interpretation: http://genius.com/9224880.

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

