Thoughts on the Glastonbury 2016 Line-Up Announcement

The main line-up for this year’s Glastonbury Festival was announced yesterday – with acts such as Jess Glynne, Disclosure and Bastille making an appearance at Worthy Farm in June.

Glastonbury Line-Up 2016
The full line-up poster was shared on social media yesterday. Photo: @GlastoFest on Twitter.
I couldn’t be happier about the line-up. First of all, the headliners are perfect for everyone. If you don’t like traditional, upbeat pop of Coldplay, then you might like Muse’s hardcore rock. Alternatively, if you want something a bit more mellow, Adele’s relaxing soul may be right up your street.

Aside from that, it’s great to see a line-up full of new artists, with the odd old act thrown in. For example, it’s great to see Gregory Porter on the list again after he performed a phenomenal set at Glastonbury last year. On the other hand, I did find last year’s sets by Annie Mac and Years and Years rather disappointing. The good news is that there is so much choice this year.

For example, Madness, Earth Wind and Fire, and Jeff Lynne’s ELO are all classic acts that I’ll definitely go and see – provided there are no clashes. From a young age I’ve always been surrounded by Madness as well as Earth, Wind and Fire on a regular basis. Then, with regards to the Electric Light Orchestra, who doesn’t want to dance to Mr Blue Sky on a bright Summer’s day in Somerset?

In terms of current artists, I was thrilled to see Two Door Cinema Club on the list. If you read this Musical Discovery post, then you’ll know that I recently re-discovered their music last month. Since then, they’ve soon become one of my favourite bands because of their upbeat summery music. At the moment, they are yet to release any new music and I really doubted that they would appear at Glastonbury. They are and I cannot wait!

Another convenient artist on the line-up is Jess Glynne. I have seen her at 2014’s V Festival, but that was before she released her debut album, I Cry When I When I Laugh. I did have the option of watching her last year, but when Pendulum performed a one-off gig, I knew I wouldn’t have that chance again. Now, I’m looking forward to seeing her perform music from her album at this year’s Glastonbury.

There’s also the fact that I will be able to see acts I’ve seen before. I was blown away by Gregory Porter’s performance at Glastonbury last year so I’ll probably see him again. I also remember Bastille being a great band to see, so as long as there’s no clashes, I shall definitely go and see them for the second time. Then Of Monsters and Men were phenomenal when I saw them in Lincoln in November.

Other acts I am looking forward to include The 1975 (Chocolate, Girls, Settle Down and The Sound are personal favourites of mine), Disclosure, Jake Bugg, The Lumineers and M83 (I’m a big fan of Midnight City).

What do you think of the line-up? Will you be going to Glastonbury this year? Comment below!

Liam

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Glastonbury 2016 Line-Up Announcement

    • Oh absolutely! I went last year and 2016 is definitely the year where I’m worried I won’t see everyone – there’s so much choice!

      It’s awesome that you live so close to Glastonbury! Have you ever been before?

      Good choice of artists! Adele definitely is a must-see for me!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

