Weekly Update: Mixed Messages in the Blogging Community

This week has been rather quiet, where I have been trying to get a lot of work out of the way and enter a few competitions. However, in amongst this, I did a ‘clearout’ on Twitter and unfollowed accounts I’m no longer interested in.

I should stress that whilst numbers aren’t the main thing I focus on when it comes to blogging and Twitter, I do check my statistics often to see how well my blog posts are doing and to see how valued my tweets are.

However, what I did notice is that, after unfollowing a few accounts, is that they unfollowed back. This is no big deal, until I realised that some of these bloggers would say that you should follow someone based on interest, not for the numbers. So, if they unfollow back, what’s not to say that they were just following you because of that extra number? Is that why they unfollowed back?

I recently made another blog post about this, but I think the message surrounding numbers and statistics in the blogging community needs to be made clearer. Some new bloggers enter the community with the idea that it is all about ‘follow for a follow’, and this often fades after other, ‘older’ bloggers tell them that the community values quality over quantity and so forth.

But then, some people spreading this message don’t really abide by it. How many times have you seen a tweet recently where people complain about people rigorously following and unfollowing accounts just to get a follow back? These people then say how important it is to value a person’s tweets, blog content and interaction – as opposed to them being just a number.

The only problem is, what happens when the interaction stops? What do you do when I decide that we don’t interact as often during Twitter chats, comment on each other’s blogs as often, or even read the blogs themselves. In my case, there’s no point in seeing tweets in my timeline from someone I’ve drifted away from in the community (the alternative would be making a rather awkward re-introduction), so I unfollow.

Now, when the other person finally gets round to realising and they unfollow back, is it a matter of them seeing you as nothing more than a number, or them being reminded that the interaction is lost? We’ll never know the answer and so it’s hard for us to consider their actions hypercritical unless we do.

This was just another opportunity to explain some thoughts I’ve been having and I really do hope this makes sense, but I think we all need to explain how and why we follow people, as well as what we see within the numbers.

Listen to this week’s episode of Brunchtime:

How was your week? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Mixed Messages in the Blogging Community

  1. If someone I spoke to a lot on Twitter etc had unfollowed me I would take it quite personally and unfollow back. I may not speak to them as much anymore but I would have felt like we had a connection and if they can’t be bothered to keep that up then why should I? Usually if I unfollow it’s because I take it personally and wonder why they have unfollowed. I only unfollow people first if they put up something I don’t agree with or don’t have a ‘personality’: way too many people use Twitter just to promote their blog and don’t actually interact with others. I don’t see it as ‘I’m a number’ to them, more that I am someone they no longer connect to or like to see on their timeline. That’s my personal opinion on it anyway.
    Shona x

    Like

    • Interesting. I think it depends on interaction. If it’s genuinely because of a lack of discussion, then fair enough. But, if the reasons for unfollowing is because they’ve lost a number, then that’s a problem. The only way we can find out though is if we ask them.

      Thanks for commenting, Shona!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

