Weekly Update: Unbelievable Opportunities

Admittedly, not much happened this week. However, I thought I would use this post to talk about the ‘unbelievable opportunities’ that I have received since starting university or – more recently – this semester.

What was really exciting this week was that on Thursday, I was able to attend a reading by the Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy.

A photo of the Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy.
Photo: Chris Boland – http://www.chrisboland.com/. Licensed under Creative Commons: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode.

Like many others, I first stumbled across Duffy’s work whilst studying for my GCSEs. I remember reading Havisham and Anne Hathaway. In particular, I recall the beautiful, visual imagery in both poems. It was imaginative, and that was the same when I saw her read out her works.

I took a lot away from the event. One of the main thoughts I had whilst listening to the poems was how much more can be added to a a poem when it is read aloud. At times I smiled at the thought that a specific word would not be read the same way by anyone else – everyone brings their own ideas and reading to a poem.

On the whole, both the poems themselves and Duffy were inspiring, creative and humorous. I particularly like the idea behind her The Woman’s Wife anthology and have bought that as well as New Selected Poems. I look forward to reading them.

Also, I was interviewed by the Guardian recently for an article on unconditional offers for university students. I’m thrilled to say it’s now online and you can read it here.

If you’ve ever asked where I want to go with journalism, I always reply with court reporting and/or writing for the Guardian. Last year I went to an insight day and I fell in love with how artsy the inside of their building is. In terms of the newspaper itself, I really admire its analytical approach to the news.

So as you can imagine, I was pretty excited to see my name on the Guardian website.

Listen to this week’s episode of Brunchtime (my radio show):

How was yours? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Unbelievable Opportunities

  1. I’m glad you’re having fun with the college experience. I’m curious about these unconditional offers — do you just get an acceptance letter or are there other things you have to do to receive an unconditional offer? It’s been a while since I was in college but my college acceptance involved different factors such as an application, an essay, good grades and involvement with community organizations.

    Like

    • Well, for me, I received an initial, conditional offer (that is, ‘you need to achieve these grades to get in’). I then received an additional email saying I received an unconditional offer.

      From a student perspective, it’s hard to say what you have to do to get an unconditional offer. I think it’s things such as commitment/interest in the course subject, experience and good character/attendance records. It’s all rather mysterious!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

