Musical Discovery: January Tunes

At the start of this month, I had all my Musical Discovery posts for January planned out, written and scheduled weeks in advance. However, as the days went by, I realised that I had found a lot of new music this month. Last week, I was desperate to let you all know about Frances, so this week is a round-up of my January tunes!

 

Good Times by Ella Eyre:

First of all, thanks must go to OliviaCheryl – as I stumbled across this song whilst browsing her YouTube channel (definitely go subscribe, by the way).

Anyway, after listening to this track, I was surprised that there was no mention of a drum and bass artist in the title of the YouTube video/song. In my head, I could tell that the drum-and-bass progression had to be typical of one DnB DJ – was it another collaboration with Rudimental? DJ Fresh? Wilkinson?

It took a moment to investigate, but it turns out that Good Times was a collaboration with Sigma – it’s just there was no credit to them in the song title! I was kicking myself when I realised (the song’s style was typical of the duo), but nevertheless it’s another triumph for both Ella and the DnB DJs. The music video was uploaded in July last year and whilst it’s still popular today – it was probably a great summer anthem when it was first released.

Also, I would go as far as to say that this is up there with her collaboration with Rudimental on Waiting All Night. Admittedly, I’ve never been a fan of Ella Eyre (at least not her original work) and so I would say that she really shines in these DnB singles – where the pressure of a fast-paced tempo is on and she can experiment with her vocal range.

Lastly, as well as the song being a feel-good summer anthem, the music video is full of euphoria, pugs and kittens – what more could you want?

 

Calling Out by Penguin Prison:

 

You may remember a while back that I reviewed Elephante‘s remix of Calling Out by Penguin Prison in a recent Musical Discovery. This time, however, I was keen to listen to the original version.

Whilst I wasn’t keen on Penguin Prison’s other tracks, it was interesting to compare this version with Elephante’s remix. After listening to both of them, it was clear that Elephante was respectful to the original, and that Penguin Prison’s version is just as funky – with a bouncy drum beat and strong guitar rhythm. Usually, I am not keen on remixes, but this is another track where I am keen on both a remix and the original.

 

Miracles by Martin Jensen feat. Bjørnskov:

Earlier this month I reviewed a few tracks from RAC, and that was after stumbling across his music on Facebook. Now, the social networking app’s ‘promoted’ sites has directed me to another artist I might like. This time, I came across DJ Martin Jensen’s, Miracles.

Admittedly, I was a bit disappointed with the beginning of the song. Soulful vocals from Bjørnsjov don’t quite fit in with the light piano melody. Thankfully, as an electronic melody and slow drum beat are introduced, the song finally develops a reliable and consistent tempo. Whilst this relaxing style appears in the opening verse, a simplistic synth melody paves the way into a similarly euphoric and ‘bouncy’ chorus.

In a video on his Facebook page, you can see where Martin Jensen originally got the idea for the chorus from. The wavering synth melody actually comes from an audio sample – taken from the ‘duck army’ video which went viral last year. It may be bizarre, but this audio sampling isn’t apparent when you give the song a listen.

Overall, the backing synth and jumpy drum beat in the chorus – combined with Bjørnskov’s vocal talents – create a chilled house melody that’s definitely worth listening to. Also, with the song only having been released in November last year, it’s fair to say that Martin Jensen may go on to achieve great things in 2016.

 

Which of these tracks is your favourite? Comment below!

Liam

 

5 thoughts on “Musical Discovery: January Tunes

  1. Hahaha!! Don’t you just hate that? I’ve done that four times! I’ve thought in my head, I am going to review this song and that one, by Friday comes along it’s like “oh, here are more songs/albums for you to listen to!” And your whole plan is ruined! That’s why I have two days of music posts and only stick with one week in mind. By Friday, my whole week basically starts off! I will say, it doesn’t get any easier though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I love Good Times by Ella Eyre! This is perfect to listen to right now with the sun shining from my window. I think this could be amazing for this spring too. It just makes me smile and dance so much.
    xx Lisa | Following Lisa

    Like

    • Excellent, I’m so glad that you like it! I stumbled across it in a vlog I watched and I love how upbeat it is. Sigma do some great tracks and Ella Eyre is perfect on every DnB track she is on. Definitely check out some more of Sigma’s tracks if you’re interested.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

