Weekly Update: Returning to University

After a nice Christmas and New Year break, I returned to Lincoln this week to start my second term/semester at university.

Whilst I’ve only been back a week, I can definitely say that university life has got even better. Despite having to take a break from shorthand over Christmas because of a law exam, I absolutely love learning the written language and am using it more everyday – it’s so useful!

As well as that, there’s a new part of the course called Public Administration for Journalists (basically, politics), which I am finding really interesting. I think after last year’s General Election – when I could vote for the first time – I was thrown into the deep end when it comes to understanding political parties. Since then, I’ve always dabbled in politics more – I went to the Conservative Party Conference to interview MPs, for example – because it’s certainly an interesting thing. We talk a lot about the monarchy, government and law in this module and I can’t wait to learn more.

Additionally, my radio show – which I co-host with my friend Danyal – is going great! I had a bit of coverage in the local press about it, I’m learning plenty of new things and the opportunities and skills it has provided me with has been incredible. I’m so thankful for it and can’t wait to do more radio work with Siren FM in 2016.

Speaking of music, I also saw Philip George this Friday. Although, I couldn’t help but feel a bit disappointed. Save for a few remixes, Philip’s choices of tracks were all too similar. In terms of the support acts, the first DJ had a small crowd, whilst the second act had an annoying frontman (which, if you don’t know, are those people who hype up the crowd). I appreciate the need to get the crowd excited, but I just want to listen to the music!

But nevertheless, this week was awesome and it was a great start to another year education-wise.

How was your week? Comment below!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

