Review: ‘The Girl in the Spider’s Web’ by David Lagercrantz

Nowadays, there are only a few books where I am jealous of the author. Sometimes I would read a book and once I’ve finished it, I would wish that I was the one who wrote it. When it comes to The Girl in the Spider’s Web, the concept at the centre of the novel was so clever, that once again I was jealous of David Lagercrantz for coming up with such a creative idea.

Of course, this was a continuation of Stieg Larsson’s best-selling Millennium trilogy. Ever since Larsson passed away in 2004, everyone was desperate to know whether there was an uncompleted fourth novel somewhere. There was, but what followed was a long legal dispute which finally ended in David Lagercrantz being asked to write a different sequel. With that in mind, fans of the series were desperate to know if Lagercrantz could continue Larsson’s legacy…

In my eyes, he certainly lived up to my expectations. Mikeal Blomkvist is still the sarcastic journalist/womaniser and – whilst I was a bit surprised by Lisbeth’s dialogue – Salander remains as enigmatic and sociopathic as ever.

Although, having said that, the book still adds more to Blomkvist and Salander’s backstories (I shall say no more – no spoilers). But aside from that, the idea of a gifted autistic child holding the secrets to a murder case is sheer brilliance.

Admittedly, I was a little disappointed by the ending. But, now that another book in the series has been confirmed, I look forward to seeing how the lives of Blomkvist and Salander develop once more.

Have you read The Girl in the Spider’s Web? Did it live up to your expectations? Does it continue the series well? Comment below!

Liam

14 thoughts on “Review: ‘The Girl in the Spider’s Web’ by David Lagercrantz

  1. You had me at “sociopath” here. I´ve heard of this book but I didn´t know it was part of a series. Now I´m quite intrigued to read it all! I do love a good sociopath, add an autistic child on top & I´m practically hooked (I blame my psychology studies for this!).
    xx Lisa | Following Lisa

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yes, definitely start with ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’. Without a doubt it is one of my favourite books ever.

      Nothing wrong with a bit of psychology, haha! Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

