The 2015 Review

Last year, I gave a light-hearted review of 2014’s culture. In particular, I commented on what the song, TV show and film of 2014 was – amongst others. This year, the blogging ‘tradition’ is back and I try to summarise 2015 in one neat little bite-sized review.

Song of 2015:

In the run-up to his debut album in March, French DJ Madeon released a few singles to tease fans. This included tracks such as You’re On (feat. Kyan) and Imperium. However, in February this year, it was his track Pay No Mind (feat. Passion Pit) which caught my attention. The message of the song was uplifting, it’s synth melody was vibrant and I was constantly listening to it on Fader’s website until the album was released. I’ve been listening to the song regularly ever since and have decided that it’s my favourite song of all-time.

Album of 2015:

Following on from my favourite song of the year (and all-time), my album of 2015 has to be Madeon’s Adventure. It came out just days before my birthday, I saw him live on my birthday, and so the album means a lot to me. As well as this, it’s the music videos, the creativity and the style which all made it such a great debut. I can’t wait for Madeon’s second release.

However, that being said, praise must also go to James Bay’s Chaos and the Calm. Since winning this year’s Critics’ Choice Award at the BRITS he’s done brilliantly. The album is great and he is an amazing performer after I saw him at Glastonbury and V Festival this year. Also, Beneath the Skin by Of Monsters and Men was great too – they were great when I saw them in Lincoln last month.

TV show of 2015:

This is a difficult choice. In terms of the TV channel, it has to be Channel 4 this year, which has released some incredible dramas. However, whether the TV show of 2015 is Hunted or Humans I do not know. Whilst Humans was so thought-provoking that I wrote a three-page blog post/essay on the rise of Artificial Intelligence, Hunted was more relevant to today’s politics. It got me thinking and it was something which I could reference in other similar discussions. It had me on the edge of my seat each episode.

Book of 2015:

For this, I may have to take a risk and recommend a book I haven’t quite finished yet. If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you’ll know that one of my favourite series of books is the Millennium series (which contains The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo).

Sadly, the original author, Stieg Larsson, died shortly after submitting the manuscripts for the first three novels. However, since then another author has continued the series with The Girl in the Spider’s Web – which was written by David Lagercrantz.

I’m near the end and the book is one of the few novels I’ve read where I’m kicking myself for not coming up with the idea Lagercrantz had for a crime novel. I love the series and the book certainly appears to be a great continuation from what I’ve read so far.

Film of 2015:

I suppose a New Year’s resolution for 2016 is to go to the cinema more often, as I’ve kind of been put off by films recently. In turn, I can only comment on one film and that is Insurgent (the follow-up to last year’s Divergent). Personally, I still think the books were brilliantly adapted for the cinema. However, this year I would have also liked to have seen Spectre and Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Play of 2015:

Lastly, I have to give a mention to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Ever since I saw it in November, I can’t stop telling everyone about how great it was. The play was not just the best play of 2015 for me, but no-doubt the best play of all-time – it was so good!

That was my review of the year – it’s certainly been a great. Do you agree with my opinions? Comment below!

Liam

4 thoughts on “The 2015 Review

    • Thank you so much! Thanks for stopping by and commenting too. Oh yes, love the first two books and films (not too sure on the third book).

      Yes, it’d be great to connect and say hello! Do you have Twitter?

      Like

  1. This is such a nice round up of 2015. I totally loved James Bay’s and Adele’s album this year. Next to Insurgent I also really enjoyed Inside Out! I saw Spectre but I didn’t enjoy it that much. Maybe because action movies aren’t really my thing. But everyone who likes action movies said it was quite good.
    xx Lisa | Following Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Oh absolutely, James Bay is an excellent performer – great style, too.

      Ah yes, Inside Out! I’ve heard good things about that. I still want to see Spectre and Star Wars; I don’t mind some action movies!

      Thanks for commenting. Happy New Year!

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

