Writing Update: Possibly Doing NaNoWriMo

It’s been a while, but I’ve finally had time this week to get some writing done. The train journeys from Lincoln to Manchester (and vice verse) were 3 hours long, so I had plenty of time to get back to reading The Girl in the Spider’s Web.

I’d say it was this, and a meeting with the university’s Creative Writing society, which inspired me to write more of my book. Reading is the only way to learn how to write, and surrounding yourself with fellow authors is a great way to feel inspired. The only problem I have now, however, is finding the time and the motivation.

At the moment, I’ve managed to fit in 30 minutes of shorthand practice each day (which is going well, by the way). So why, in that case, can I not fit in 30 mins of writing as well?

From where I’m at with the book at the moment, I have a good sense of direction so I should be able to write more – I just lack the motivation.

For that reason, I’m going to try and fit in 30 minutes of writing each day. I’m still doubtful that I’m making good progress on my book (I fear that I won’t meet my end-of-the-year deadline) so it may be that I do NaNoWriMo this year to give my book that 50,000 word boost.

However, whenever I’ve taken part in NaNoWriMo for the last few years, I’ve always given up on the story because it felt rushed. I’ve done well to avoid self-doubt over my story ideas I far, so it would be a shame to give up now.

I’ll see how 30 minutes of writing a day goes, and I’ll keep you all posted.

Current Word Count: 14,680

Liam

2 thoughts on “Writing Update: Possibly Doing NaNoWriMo

Think Outside the Box...

