Writing Update: An Uncertain Deadline


First of all, I’d like to apologise for the delay in getting another writing update up on the blog. As you can imagine, university life has been rather busy lately – but that’s not to say that I’ve stopped writing!

At the moment, I’ve had to do some reordering of plot points but now the plot is finally flowing! The first important catalyst in terms of the story has also been written so now it’s a full sprint to the end. The only problem now, however, is that I don’t know when I’m going to get there.

Whilst I have the synopsis planned out and I know what happens plot-wise, my refusal to assign certain plot points into chapters (for fear of having a moment of panic and in turn, self doubt) has led to me being unable to measure my progress. Yes, I may have the word count to help, but whenever anyone asks hoe the book is going, I can only give them the current word count, along with a rough indication of how far I am in the book. Right now I’d say I’m only 1/4 of the way through the book, which is worrying considering that I am to finish by Christmas!

Anyway, aside from all that, ideas have finally started to come naturally, and the words flow. I think the issue now though is getting the motivation to write. It’s not that my story isn’t interesting anymore, it’s just that I need to stop procrastinating!

Current Word Count: 13,829 words

It’s a bit of a jump! Hopefully there’ll be another big increase next time! As always, I shall keep you posted.

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

