Musical Discovery: ‘Children of the Wild’ by Steve Angello feat. Mako

Sometimes, I’m desperate to find a new track to review for my Musical Discovery posts. But after a quick look on YouTube, I noticed that Steve Angello released a new track last week. I gave it a listen and I liked it! So, for this week’s Musical Discovery, I review Children of the Wild by Steve Angello feat. Mako.

Aside from the song itself, the music video reminds me of Woodkid’s dramatic Run Boy Run. This continues in the actual music, with the track’s powerful, driving drum beat in the bridge mimicking the consistent drum beat in Woodkid’s song.

On a similar note, Mako’s ‘buzzing’ vocals appear to resemble Noel Gallagher’s style, making the song’s repetitive lyrics memorable and catchy.

Then, for the chorus, Angello introduces a guitar melody which is like Calvin Harris’ track, Faith. Whilst I feel as though the chorus doesn’t match the style of the verses, it’s still a part of the song which stands out to me.

However, despite liking most of the track, that is not to say that there aren’t any parts of the song which I don’t like. For example, in the middle of the track, there is silence for around 15 seconds in the middle of the track, which is unusual and disappointing.

But overall, with certain aspects of the track mimicking artists such as Woodkid and Noel Gallagher, Children of the Wild is a euphoric single by Steve Angello and Mako.

What do you think? Comment below!

Liam

4 thoughts on “Musical Discovery: ‘Children of the Wild’ by Steve Angello feat. Mako

  1. I was watching this video and I thought it looked familiar. Then you mentioned Woodkid. It does indeed look similar to his video. I’m not sure if I’m in love with this song… but I do love Run Boy Run hahah

    xx Izzy | Qthee

    Liked by 1 person

Think Outside the Box...

