Writing Update: A New Deadline and Beating Self-Doubt

A little bit of progress has been made on my book lately. First of all, I finally got through the introductory section of my book, where it’s more about introducing characters and their backstory than the action-packed scenes. Now, as my previous update mentioned, things are getting interesting and it is more action than character development.

But as well as that, I’ve become motivated to write more. Listening to David Lagercrantz talk about The Girl in the Spider’s Web on Friday (read the post here), as well as talking to fellow writers, has left me inspired. In particular, I think I’ve finally found out how to deal with my self-doubt, which has led to me giving up on books in the past. The solution, however selfish it may be, is to talk about your book to others.

I met with fellow writers earlier this month and found that talking about my book to others gave me the motivation to continue. Also, hearing that they’re interested in the plot makes me happy knowing that they may be another prospective reader. The situation now then is that I want to write, but I just don’t have the time.

So what will I do to make me write? Deadlines. In the past, I’ve worried myself over placing deadlines on my creative work as it tends to become an excuse for me to give up on the story. However, now I am fully motivated, and the deadline itself makes a lot of sense. I’ve decided to set a deadline to complete my first draft of this book by 31st December latest. This is not only so I can achieve another one of my New Year’s resolutions, but so I have a good six-month break to separate myself from my book.

Initially, I had planned to complete the first draft by September before I start university. I could give myself the six months of university where I will be studying, then during the summer break, I can look at my work with fresh eyes, along with suggestions from those who have read the first draft, and work on editing. However, now that it is September and I’m only a week away from starting university, I’ve realised that I won’t meet my initial deadline, but I will try to complete the first draft as soon as possible.

We shall see how that goes, but in the meantime, here is the current word count:

Current Word Count: 9,871 words

Liam

4 thoughts on “Writing Update: A New Deadline and Beating Self-Doubt

  1. Yes! You can do this. It’s such a great idea to have deadlines to motivate you. I recommend doing a word race or two, where you write like a maniac no pausing to edit or doubt yourself for an hour. Those words will soon add up! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on writing a book! I’m sure it’s a daunting task but you’ll be done with it in no time. Another good tip is to set bi-weekly or monthly deadlines too. December 31st seems like a long ways to go and you might trick yourself into thinking you have enough time. They’ve already put some Christmas stuff in stores so it’ll be here quick! lol Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Think Outside the Box...

