Writing Update: It’s Been A While…

I’ve just realised that it’s been nearly a month since my last writing update. Sorry about that, I’ve been busy. Well, that, and the fact that I’ve struggled when writing my latest scene of my book.

The scene itself isn’t particularly one of action. Instead, it covers backstory and develops character. It’s tough though, because I enjoy writing scenes of action – ones where the plot moves forward, fast-paced and scenes which I know will excite the reader. Whilst backstory and character development are key to a good plot and story, I often find it hard to make these scenes as intriguing or as good as those action scenes.

But if anything, I’ve learnt that you need motivation and persistence to get through these difficult sections. At the moment, the book is a first draft so I can always return to these scenes if need be. Thankfully, the motivation came by talking to others about my story (there’s always some fun in telling other people your idea and hearing what they think) as well as having some time to write. I got some writing done whilst in London last week and wrote a lot whilst in my tent at V Festival! Also, the scene I’m writing no longer looks boring and will provide an intriguing backstory to one of my main characters…

Unfortunately, it now looks unlikely that I’ll complete the book by my first deadline of September. However, I want to complete the book by the end of the year in line with one of this year’s New Year’s Resolutions. Hopefully I’ll have more time on my hands at university to write my book and I can get it finished soon.

Speaking of my writing whilst at V Festival, when I finally got it written up into my one big document, my word count has increased dramatically and is looking more positive. So, without further ado, this is what my word count is at the moment:

Current Word Count: 7,511 words

I look forward to working on the book more over the next few weeks, and as always, I shall keep you posted!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

