Writing Update: Word Count Problems

At the moment, I’ve written a fair amount of my book in one big Word document. For that reason, I haven’t really split up scenes into chapters. But aside from that, I’ve written quite a few scenes, yet I’m still only on 5,000 words (or thereabouts).

Whilst the whole idea of target word counts has always been mysterious (is it a guide or mandatory goal for authors?), having only 5,000 words after writing three or so ‘scenes’/chapters is a bit concerning.

Initially, I had intended to write 100,000 words for my first draft, and then in editing it could be decreased down to something between 85,000 to 90,000 words. Whilst that may still be too high, the best scenario is to edit out words, rather than add more in.

But of course, these numbers and change all the time based on the genre of the book, the publisher you ask and the website you look at. Another issue I have is the genre of my book. It is of course crime fiction, but then there’s the sub-genres such as thriller, suspense and mystery which I’m not sure as to which one my book belongs to.

But of course, I’m not going to worry about that until I have finished writing! So, without further ado, here’s my current word count!

Current Word Count: 

Liam

6 thoughts on “Writing Update: Word Count Problems

  1. Have you tried Scrivener yet? Really good for managing scenes, chapters and notes and research. If you’re like me and you’ve written 50,000 words in MS Word you’ll get completely lost. Especially if, again, like me, you’ve broken all the rules and have written several levels of nested flashbacks, it becomes a nightmare. I converted that WIP from MS Word to Scrivener recently, including the folder structure and quickly realised how much easier it is to shuffle things around and keep it organised. Love it. One day I’ll finish it!

    Like

    • Ah yes, Scrivener! I remember somebody mentioning that before. I don’t know why but it’s never really appealed to me… It costs a bit, right?

      So far my Word document is manageable. But I shall definitely give it a look!

      Thanks for commenting! How are you? Long time no speak!

      Like

  2. I use the Linux version which is free because it’s the development version of the Windows release.
    Sorry about the delay in replying. I had a gall bladder removed a few days ago. Might even write a post about it.

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

