An app called Citymapper | A Guest Post by Amy from Life as Amazzable


Hello, my name is Amy and I am the owner of lifeasamazzable.com. When Liam invited me to guest post on his blog a long, long time ago (sorry for being so rubbish) he gave me complete freedom to decide what I wanted to write about. It needed to be something that fit into his style of writing and so, for the first time ever, I have decided to attempt an app review.

For me personally, app reviews are not something that I have ever considered however, this particular app needs to be shared. When myself and my boyfriend booked 5 days away to Barcelona, we had no clue how we were going to navigate our way around the city. This was when I was presented with Citymapper, an Android and Apple app similar to Google Maps which downloads all transport information for a particular city straight to your phone.

This app unfortunately doesn’t cover every single city in the world currently. However, if you are travelling to places such as Singapore, Milan, Berlin, New York or San Francisco, I would highly recommend this app, especially if you are not an expert on things such as the underground like myself. For me personally, Citymapper made our holiday a much more pleasant and stress free experience compared to having to try and use the maps that were provided to us on the buses and metro. All you had to do was put in your start and end destinations, and the app would provide you with real time information on all possible routes you could take. It also included the overall duration of your journey, step by step guides for each section of your journey and to top it all off, there was an option to notify you with vibrations when you were arriving at the stop you needed to get off at.

During our time away, we saw numerous people walking around aimlessly with the tiny metro maps in their hands, trying to work out where they needed to go next. Citymapper almost made us look like we had been to Barcelona before as we were able to get off the bus or the metro and know where we were going straight away. The app offers routes for: walking, cycling, the tube, metro, taxis, trains, trams, ferries and even hover boards (just in case you like to live life on the edge).

Overall, I would have to rate this app 4.5/5 purely for the fact that I am not sure people would be able to reap the full benefits if they were not lucky enough to have unlimited data usage. However, for peace of mind and helping to create some familiarity within a foreign country, Citymapper is a must have app should you be travelling to one of the cities included.


Many thanks to Amy from Life as Amazzable for writing this guest post. You can visit her blog by clicking here, and you can also ind her on Bloglovin, Twitter and Instagram.
I also did a guest post for Amy on her blog, which you can read here.

Think Outside the Box...

