In Pursuit of a More Challenging Read

After taking a while to complete The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson, I was quick to get back into reading. At home, I have a bookcase full of books I need to read. In particular, there’s books on there from Young Adult series I haven’t read for five years or so. Eager to power my way through my to-be-read pile, I picked up The Sacrifice by Charlie Higson – part of The Enemy YA series.

However, with me reading the first three books in the series so long ago, I struggled to remember the plot details and characters from the series. As well as that, I feel as though my reading age and preference has changed since then. Whilst I used to be interested in books about teenage spies (CHERUB) or a group of teenagers surviving a zombie apocalypse, now I am interested in the latest crime fiction novels. For example, I am now reading The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling.

Of course, I could read these YA novels even when I am outside the ‘teenage’ bracket. However, the language is different, and I want something different and more challenging. I look forward to reading more of The Cuckoo’s Calling.

Have you found that your reading tastes change from time to time? Comment below!

Liam

6 thoughts on “In Pursuit of a More Challenging Read

  1. My reading preferences definitely change. I used to really love cheesy romantic books (which I still do, I must admit.) Although I now really love horror/ thriller kind of books.

    Like

  2. I used to love books like CHERUB, but my literature degree has definitely steered me in different directions! Really looking forward to finishing it though so I can get back to reading books of my choice 🙂

    Laura
    aviewfrom-thebalcony.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

    • I used to do that! I just about managed to remember what happened in each book! Are you able to remember?

      Gone Girl is a great book, by the way! But I was disappointed by the ending (no spoilers, don’t worry! Haha!)

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

