Review: ‘The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden’ by Jonas Jonasson

I remember buying Jonas Jonasson’s The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared in Waterstones after hearing so many good reviews. Along with that, I bought his follow-up novel, The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden. At first, I felt foolish for buying it without reading the first few chapters. However, after finishing both books, I do not regret anything.


First off, Jonasson’s experiences as a journalist allows him to educate readers about politics, international affairs and more. As I read both novels, I learnt more about a variety of things, which I think is brilliant.

When it comes to the novel itself, Jonasson’s humour is still present. From the identical twins both named Holger, to impossible plot twists, the book is the second to make me laugh out loud.

Also, like the opportunist character of Allan from The One Hundred Year Old Man…, the clever and intellectual Nombeko is a fun and interesting protagonist for Jonasson’s second novel.

Despite it taking a while for me to finish the book (I was busy for a while), I am eager to read the next book from Jonas Jonasson.

With his unique brand of bonkers and nonsensical humour, Jonas Jonasson’s second novel, The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, is an interesting and fun tale that is just as brilliant as his debut.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Have you read this book? What did you think? Comment below!

Liam

8 thoughts on “Review: ‘The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden’ by Jonas Jonasson

Think Outside the Box...

