Writing Update: Turning Ideas into Plot

At last, things are getting sorted, and I have more time on my hands. So, after it being so long since I worked on the novel, I hope to get back into writing it very soon. However, despite having ages for my ideas to develop by themselves, the plotting process always has been… difficult.

It’s usually at this point where the self-critic creeps in and tells me that I have an under-developed idea that no-one will care about. But this idea has bothered me for a while now, and I cannot afford for this idea to go down the same route.

So the fear of the blank page is holding me back. At the moment I am using some online writing tips but still, any writing tips are much appreciated!

Let me know your tips! How do you plan your writing? Comment below!

Liam

7 thoughts on “Writing Update: Turning Ideas into Plot

  1. Once I get my idea and my character profiles drawn up., I go into Scrivener and set up my flashcards with a few sentences on what each chapter will be about. This automatically puts them into an outline for me and I can can chapters around in my binder if I like. I’m loving working in Scrivener. If you’d like to see what that looks like click here: https://redclayandroses1.wordpress.com/2014/05/08/played-with-scrivener-today-in-my-revised-crime-novel/

    The index cards show up in the top right corner to every chapter and give me guidance on what to write for each chapter. I have several posts on working in Scrivener if you put in the keyword Scrivener in the search box.

    Like

  2. When it comes to writing, I am literally my own worst critic. For some reason I’m never happy with my writing – I’m always finding room for improvement etc. To start off with, I jot down general ideas, just like random sentences on what I know whats to happen in my story, what the ending will be etc then try to work around that. Creating character profiles and plot points for each chapter is my next step, just so I then have a clear path to take!

    Right I best stop rambling and procrastinating now and get back to writing 😛
    Emma xo

    Like

  3. Hi Liam! I draft posts using Simplenote with Markdown on my iPhone when ideas come to my head away from my laptop, then copy–paste it into a new post when I feel it’s ready for another iteration and review. Along with highlights saved to Instapaper, I can always riff from a pool of ideas and quotes.

    I probably need to set aside time to skim through the Daily Post at WordPress.com, searching for writing tips and schedule. 🙂

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

