Detectives without clichés

With my latest idea for a crime novel, I knew that I needed a detective that fits the situation, making the book an interesting read. However, one thing I struggle with, is creating a unique detective. They can’t be an alcoholic, or rebellious, so the question is: how do you create a detective without clichés?

In the past, I’ve often found work-arounds with the protagonist being someone aside from a police officer. However, that does have its limitations…

I know that each character must have its flaws, but I think it’s a matter of making my characters believable.

So I suppose this is another question to ask you! How do you make a character unique, believable and without the clichés? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Detectives without clichés

  1. Interesting. I find that the qualities of a character are often cliche’d. The flaws are much more fun to play with. You can give them seemingly innocuous habits that perhaps combine with some event that results in disaster. I’m reminded of a James Bond movie (can’t remember which one but I think it featured Pearce Brosnan?) where Bond has an explosive pen that is armed afer a certain combination of clicks. Another character gets hold of the pen and habitually starts clicking the pen in and out, over and over, while concentrating on a computer screen or something. Meanwhile Bond is going mad trying to keep track of whether or not the pen is armed. (Name that movie!)
    There are endless possibilities!

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

