Why I’m Not Doing NaNoWriMo…

As the title suggests, I’m afraid that I will not be joining in for NaNoWriMo this year…

Don’t get me wrong, the idea is great, but there’s a lot of reasons why I think this year may not be a good one for me to participate in.

A primary reason is of course my education. I am in my final year before university so things are starting to get busy and so on. Therefore, it’s likely I’ll have a lot of work to do and at the end of the day, that comes first!

But as well as that, there are writing reasons that prevent me from participating, too. Although NaNo is supposed to bypass all feelings of doubt and uncertainty by forcing you to write regularly and carelessly, I find that when I did NaNo in previous years, the work feels rushed…

This is of course natural in the NaNo process – it is supposed to be a tough first draft that can be edited later. But unfortunately I’m a bit of a perfectionist, so rushing may not be so good for the ideas I have.

So I will be saving the idea I have at the moment for when I have that flicker of imagination. I find that moment to be better spontaneous, rather than forced. I’ll take it at my own pace, and then we’ll see.

Sorry to disappoint anyone, but this doesn’t mean that I won’t be cheering on anyone taking part! Good luck to those who are!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

