Thoughts on Humour in Writing

As the title suggests, today I shall be talking about writing humour. This post comes after finishing The One Hundred Year Old Man by Jonas Jonasson recently (review here. But before I start, any time I tell a joke it’s like a tumbleweed moment. No? Anyone? I’ll see myself out…

So as you can see, I’m rubbish at humour. However, there are times where everyone can do a bit of physical or verbal comedy without being aware (ie. You’ve Been Framed). So why is it so hard to write humour?

I think humour is a fragile thing to discuss. As soon as someone analyses what it is that makes a joke, it no longer is funny. It needs to be funny when you first read it, and it needs to be understandable.

I guess, from my limited knowledge on humour, humour itself can divide into verbal, physical or written humour. In a writing sense, I guess this can be done through the narrator (written), what the character says (verbal) and does (physical). But I guess it all comes down to timing – writing it when it matters, when there’s a punchline.

What do you think about writing humour? Can you write it? Do you have any tips? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Humour in Writing

  1. I’m vaguely funny in real life and I always thought that, naturally, I would be a magnificent comedy writer-I’ve harboured dreams of penning a sitcom for donkeys years-actually putting my money where my mouth is though? Yeah, that hasn’t happened yet! Because that makes it real and scary and so very judgeable. So for now, I’ll stay a comedy writer in my brain.
    For what it’s worth I do think it’s all about the timing too!
    M x

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

