Thoughts on Studying Books | Weekly Update

Apart from all the V Festival hype that happened last weekend (read here), I’ve also been busy with other things. In particular, I have had to start reading books for school which we’ll later go on to study as part of the A-Level course.

So today, I thought I would talk about my thoughts on studying books. Can books still be enjoyed when we analyse them in further detail?

There have been times where other schools I know have studied books such as The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Enduring Love – both books being ones I really enjoyed reading and would really enjoy studying.

Nonetheless, the books I have studied for academic reasons can be interesting and enjoyable when it comes to analysing them. Analysing a book allows us to get a deeper understanding, and an insight that at first may have been overlooked…

However, at the same time, I feel as though there isn’t a right answer when it comes to analysing texts. Sure, there is a clear reading that is generic. But from that we can only assume that this sentence means this, or that this character is a symbol for this…

I think analysing a book in education allows for different interpretations, which is great. But at the same time, we have to remember that when analysing, there is often no correct answer…

What do you think about studying books? Comment below!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Studying Books | Weekly Update

  1. It has been a long time since I had to study a book. In some ways, having to study a favourite book spoiled it for me. But then again, there were some books I would never have read if I hadn’t had to, and I was glad I had discovered them. My own school has Curious Incident as a Year 10 text and I’ve noticed even students who aren’t good readers get something out of it. But it may be soon replaced, not because the kids don’t like it but because some teachers are sick of having to teach it! It will be the third change in eight years. Each time because teachers were fed up. Having to teach a book has its own problems.

    What book are you having to read?

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

