REVIEW: Gone Girl (NO SPOILERS)

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn, is about former journalist Nick Dunne and his missing wife, Amy. The main question it asks is: is Nick responsible?

Obviously I’m not going to spoil the book, but I will offer my thoughts on the layout and plot. Firstly, the dual narrative was clever. Flynn was able to write in two different ways that clearly separate the characters of Nick and Amy and make interesting reading.

As for what made me continue reading, it was down to the fact that the real events were held from us. Nick’s perspective skips around the key moments (more on the moments after) whilst Amy’s perspective is in the past. We only know what happens at the end.

But there were a few things that confused me. The first was some of the chapter endings. Some were brilliant, but some were borderline cliché. Now, I’m not sure whether this is deliberate to make us question the facts, but I was a little confused by this.

The other things occurred nearer the end (so I’ll be careful how I say it!). The first was that there are some questions I had about the book (including potential plot holes), but they were only answered near the end. I know that’s expected, but I lost a little but of belief in the story because of the delayed answer!

Also, I felt as though the book could have ended sooner. However, the book ends in a way which means this doesn’t matter that much…

Overall, I was questioning how much the book would be crime fiction. But I’ve come to realise that crime fiction needs something on the side to work (a good lesson learnt for a young crime writer like myself!). In this case, the exploration of Nick’s relationships with Go and Amy are a nice contrast between the deep, crime chapters.

I look forward to watching the film when it is released in October this year.

Liam

12 thoughts on “REVIEW: Gone Girl (NO SPOILERS)

  1. I was planning to review this book soon too – I read it for book club recently and really enjoyed it aside from wanting all the characters to just shut up and go away!

    Like

    • Oh really? I must admit the character of Go was a little annoying, other than that they were alright. I think the thing that annoyed me was the chapter endings… They made you question Nick’s character, but they were so cringeworthy!

      What did you think of the ending? Satisfactory? (I’m saying it in a way which doesn’t reveal spoilers, haha!)

      Like

      • I found Go annoying too! Even the fact that she called herself ‘Go’ irritated me by the end, as I just disliked her so much. I kind of loved Amy though, maybe that’s weird, but I couldn’t help myself!

        Like

      • I agree! Go was a bit of an alien name for me! I think Gillian Flynn did well to make the character of Amy likeable – however weird that sounds…

        Like

  2. uh oh…Go was the only character I thought was half-way decent! haha I couldn’t stand any of the others, I just found them all so weak and totally lacking any kind of moral compass. I did enjoy the book for all that though, I think because I was so impressed with how well the author managed to write from each of the characters’ different perspectives without confusing their individual voices.
    The ending…I kinda picked it. Just based on how Nick had behaved throughout the whole book. It was a good (suitable?) ending, but not the uplifting sort of ending I usually enjoy.

    Like

    • Same here. I’m agree when you say that Flynn is able to write in different voices. I could see clear differences and that was well done!

      Oh dear! Haha! Well, she was OK… I personally enjoyed Amy’s chapters more. Did you?

      Like

  3. I couldn’t stand Amy as a person, so it made it very difficult to enjoy reading from her point of view, even though it was cleverly done and I appreciated the skill involved.
    I should say though, that I don’t often read crime/thriller. I read this for book club and am very glad I did, but it did remind me why I’m not a huge fan of these genres. I guess I prefer to be able to relate to, or empathise with, at least some of the characters. Otherwise I guess I’m just not emotionally invested in the story enough to care how it ends.

    Like

      • I preferred Nick’s perspective yes, but I still found him weak and frustrating.

        Hmm…I’m currently going through a bit of a phase with dystopia novels – I read the Running Man by Stephen King and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro recently (check my blog for reviews of these if you’re interested) but I read most things. I particularly enjoy historical fiction, a bit of fantasy/adventure, classics, and ‘literary’ fiction. If I feel like an easy read, then YA is my go-to 🙂

        Like

      • Oh nice! I like a few dystopia books too. Divergent is good (for books 1 and 2 that is). The Hunger Games of course is good too!

        Thanks for the blog link! Do you have Twitter? 🙂

        Like

  4. I read DIvergent earlier this year and really enjoyed the first, but the sequels were a bit weak as you say 😉 The Hunger Games was also good – if you liked that, try The Running Man – it’s basically the grown-up version of HGs.
    I don’t have twitter no haha, I’m avoiding too many forms of social media – it kills my ability to study effectively!

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

