Thoughts on the Youth Media Summit

Today involved a visit to London at 9am to go to The Youth Media Media Summit 2014, held at the BFI London Southbank and hosted by the Youth Media Agency.

I obviously needed to get tube and train tickets, and so after buying a travelcard (thank goodness for railcards), I was on route to London!

20140807-114658-42418272.jpg

As well as a railcard, there’s a handy app you can get too, fellow train commuters! The “Tube Tracker” app on the App Store is brilliant – it displays live info on trains, as well as allowing you to plan journeys! It definitely saved me some time!

Anyway, to the actual event itself… First of all, I got lost. I had to ask numerous people for directions until those handy “you are here” posts pointed me in the right direction.

20140807-114657-42417838.jpg

I’ve never been to the BFI Southbank venue before, so I was uncertain if it was going to be a massive conference hall, or something small scale. It turned out it was a cinema screening room, with an amazing capacity to house what I heard was over 450 individuals from a variety of different media.

Amongst the plans for the summit was networking. The great thing about these events is that you end up meeting so many new people and there are endless possibilities to network.

20140807-114657-42417374.jpg

There were a variety of different talks from both youth media and mainstream media, all of which had useful knowledge that I found really interesting as an aspiring journalist.

One talk in particular was about getting into mainstream media. As old- time followers will know, I am still uncertain as to how to get into such a competitive industry. It was great though as I was able to get a clear idea at the end of the day as to what I should look into when I finish my A-Levels next year.

In summary, I knew that the event was awesome when I have pages full of notes, a bag full of business cards and opportunities, and your phone dies when you’ve used Twitter all day. Also, a big thanks to the folks at the Youth Media Agency for putting on such a great summit!

What do you think about youth media? Do you think the atmosphere of youth media is getting better? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

Liam

7 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Youth Media Summit

  1. Sounds like you had such fun…. I can imagine you networking! Well done you. 😀

    RE traditional media… it’s a dying trade my friend. Papers and magazines are still only on the shelves to keep face (as told to me by one of my good friends and a very top editor of a paper…) Although interestingly enough, niche specific magazines such as equine, cars, crafts, cooking and such things seems to be doing really well.

    I think if people want to read about the strife and trouble in the world then they find a cheaper way of doing it: the internet. Plus it’s makes sense from a business point of view to go online (mass audience + cheaper cost.)

    Thanks for tweeting me your link!

    P.S I love Big Ben! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! It’s always great fun meeting new people! 😀

      I’ve heard a few people say that, but I’m still not in 100% agreement… I agree with the survival of niche magazines (Writing Magazine is doing great!). But as for others, I think I’ll agree when a big media outlet is made redundant. I still have hope!

      Of course, you’re entitled to your opinion. 🙂

      I agree with you there, though! It’s all online these days! Both sucky and useful!

      Welcome! Hope you enjoyed this post! 😀

      Me too, and The London Eye! There were some amazing views where I went! 🙂

      Like

  2. I don’t think they’ll ever be made redundant sadly, they have too huge of investors that make money out of the content, and even if only 1000 people read rather than 2000, those investors are still making money; the papers are just funded by those investors.

    Would love to see the downfall of the media as we now know it.

    I’m going to London at the end of this month – gonna get some camera time in I think!

    Look forward to reading more. 🙂

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

