Thoughts on Writing Paces

I’m now writing a new book idea, and at the moment, I’m giving it a laid-back approach to writing it. But it’s a thought I had about that which got me thinking…

What’s the correct element of time which you need to apply to writing a book?

When that question came into my mind, I realised how conflicting it is. Forcing yourself to write each day can lead to a rushed book, and making writing a chore. Both of which are not encouraged. The other option is to take it at your own pace, but that opens up to the risk of procrastination…

I suppose it comes to personal preference. At the moment, I’m taking it easy and planning. The problem with imposing deadlines to early for me is that I lose motivation, and once again I give up…

So I’m taking it slowly, but what about you? Do you write a little each day, or take it at your own pace? Comment below!

Liam

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on Writing Paces

  1. This is a question that I often hear come up, but I think the answer largely depends on why you are writing. For a hobbyist who is writing for fun, then it should be fun or you should go do something else, like gardening or hang gliding, until you feel like writing again. For a professional writer, you need to write nearly every day. Not only because it’s how you earn a living, but also because you need to develop a certain amount of discipline so that you can still be creative and produce even when its the last thing in the world that you want to do. The best course for either is to set a realistic goal for yourself and do your best to stick to it.

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

