I believe this is called a ‘book haul’…

Lucky followers of my Facebook page and Twitter will know about this a day before, but yesterday saw me go on a book shopping spree – with a Costa hot chocolate and belgian chocolate brownie after!

20140202-193720.jpg
So, with my Waterstones Card and many book vouchers to use, I went in search for more books to read. Here’s what I got, and why I got them!

The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida

20140202-192119.jpg
I’ve heard about this book somewhere. Cloud Atlas author David Mitchell (along with his wife) translate Naoki’s story about being an autistic teenager and the challenges that come with it. Personally, I know people affected by autism, and it interests me as well. This is likely to be a very good read!

1,339 Facts to Make Your Jaw Drop

20140202-192236.jpg
Now I am a massive fan of the TV show QI. For those who don’t know, it is a comedy panel show with a difference. QI itself stands for quite interesting, and the show discusses facts based around a particular topic. As a lover of facts, this book is a must-have!

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

20140202-192229.jpg
I usually don’t tend to judge books by the awards they have received, but I was intrigued by this book when it won The Costa Book Award 2013. This book details an insight into the progression of a mental illness (schizophrenia I believe), which I believe should be interesting to read.

Also, Waterstones posted a first chapter preview, and I liked what I read, so I seized the opportunity to buy it yesterday!

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

20140202-192222.jpg
Mitch Albom is a great author. I previously read The Five People You Meet in Heaven, and it’s such a delightful and thought-provoking book. So when I saw this book advertised, I had a read of the blurb.

The book itself is about the inventor of the first watch and him telling people about the true meaning of time. Again, Albom has come up with an ingenious and intriguing idea! I can’t wait to read it!

After all the books were bought, I then had a wonderful Costa hot chocolate. This was what the medium size was like. (I’m worried about the large!)

20140202-194135.jpg
I’m now currently reading The Reason I Jump at the moment, as well as another book that’s taking me a while to get through… I’m really liking it!

I’m also interested to hear if you have any book recommendations. If you have any, comment below! I’d love to hear them!

Liam

5 thoughts on “I believe this is called a ‘book haul’…

    • Haha! None left I’m afraid! Lol!

      The QI facts are great, and may mention it in a blog post. As for the Mitch Albom book, I loved “The Five People you meet in Heaven”, so this should be great! 😀

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

