Musical Discovery: 3 Musicians for 2014

This post is going to be a special Musical Discovery edition. Rather than review one track or artist, I thought I would provide you with 3 artists I look forward to hearing more of in 2014!

1. Capital Cities

I’ve loved this band when it came to their single Safe and Sound last year. However, when listening to the song on Bandcamp, I got a preview of some of their other songs. Since then, I’ve been more explorative of bands. But now, I have downloaded 4 more songs from the electronic duo. Their debut album is brilliant, and look forward to them creating some great new music next year!

2. Chlöe Howl

Chlöe Howl became popular when she was nominated for The Critics’ Choice Award for 2014’s BRITs. Interested with what each of the nominees had to offer, I gave her a listen. Immediately, her soulful vocals mixed with electronic funk fitted perfectly with my particular music taste. Sadly, the winner of The Critics’ Choice Award has since been announced as being that of La La La singer Sam Smith. But despite her not winning the award, I am sure that Chlöe will have be even more successful this year.

3. Clean Bandit

I do occasionally glimpse at the charts occasionally, and a while back I did see Clean Bandit’s track Mozart’s House appear in the chart. However, I didn’t really give it much of a listen. This time, with their 2014 track, Rather Be (featuring Jess Glynne) I managed to hear about it before its release. This track was great, and I personally think that their combination of electronic dance and orchestral violin solos will give them a bit of originality and success in 2014!

Are there any musicans/bands that you’re loving at the moment? Perhaps you think that there’s an artist/band that might debut this year! Comment below with your predictions!

Liam

2 thoughts on “Musical Discovery: 3 Musicians for 2014

Think Outside the Box...

