Book Progress: To Rewrite or Not to Rewrite?

Sorry about the title, we’ve been studying Hamlet in English Literature, so it seemed like a fitting title.

Again, not really a completed chapter this time, but more a thought that occurred to me yesterday… Should I rewrite my novel when the 1st draft is completed?

At the moment, the answer to that question is a “no”. To me, rewriting is a more extensive form of editing, and it’s like starting the whole process again…

But what I’ve come to realise is that the 1st draft will definitely not be perfect. So how I get it to perfection near-enough perfection, I am still unsure…

Do you re-write your novels, or just edit them? Comment below with your thoughts and advice!

Liam

6 thoughts on “Book Progress: To Rewrite or Not to Rewrite?

  1. I’ve worked on a novel series for quite some time, and I feel like I’ve rewritten it since I keep adding chunks of stuff in random spaces. Finally I was over it, and decided to try something else. Since then I’ve been a whole lot happier and wrote a whole bunch of new stuff. I guess it really depends on your outlook – I knew I’d never be happy with the story I originally thought was ‘brilliant’ when I realised just how mediocre it truly was. It was time to move on! 🙂

    Like

  2. You’ll never get it finished if you fiddle with it now. Finish the thing, then edit. You’re lucky enough to have a computer, so you won’t have to rewrite the whole thing, just edit. When I was your age, I had only a typewriter. A MANUAL typewriter. i’d start in longhand, then edit as I typed…then discover I needed to edit again, AFTER I’d typed….
    The best thing to do is write, give it a break, reread your MS and go from there. Well, that works for me. Good luck.

    Like

    • Ah, the beauty of the typewriter… But I see what you mean. I did think that thinking about editing at this stage would lead to me losing motivation. Not good! Thanks for the advice and for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  3. Re-writing is only necessary if you need major structural changes. For example, in the book I’m working on, after I finished the first draft, I realized that the story simply wasn’t exciting enough. So I had to go back, figure out how to change the story to make it better … and now I’m in the process of re-writing about half of it. I do NOT recommend that, lol. I would far rather just edit, or re-write small chunks, rather than re-write the whole thing!

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

