Music, and all that Jazz…

So recently I have been performing in a variety of Orchestras, Wind Bands and Jazz Bands… The latter being what I’m going to talk about today.

Jazz has always been a favourite genre for me to play as a drummer. As I’ve mentioned in the past, the ride cymbal is commonly used to set the catchy swing tempo that’s iconic to the jazz genre. But aside from that, that is the only thing that drummers have to stick to. Otherwise, along with other instruments, jazz is largely based on improvisation.

In my case, I can’t obviously go and perform complex drum solos in a jazz piece, but jazz definitely allows for brief moments where I can add a little fill (small solo). Despite the fill being short, it definitely adds a bit of spice and flavour.

Separate from playing jazz, it is also great to listen to. Funky and melodious trumpet and saxophone solos create a great funky vibe! It’s great!

Do you like jazz? Let me know in the comments!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

