The Trilogy Problem

There is often a form of pressure when writing a book. In particular, which intrigues me, is the pressure for writers to adhere to writing just the one book. It appears as though the criteria to write a series of books is growing ever smaller…

In particular, agents and publishers often request that the story you send them stands well as a stand-alone, but has series potential. But, with a series deal only being granted to best-selling books (in particular, crime novels), is it possible to write a series of novels? A trilogy, perhaps?

A trilogy, in my eyes, seems more feasible. Should a series often be granted, it’s often encouraged that the story arc is resolved in the third book through a trilogy. If anything, it works well with film too (most notably The Hobbit films, working well as a trilogy despite the two-part book series). The only ever exception has often been stand-alone detective novels, where reading in order isn’t necessarily required.

However, there have been a few exceptions where there has been more than three books where the story continues throughout. Most notably is that of the Twilight series, as well as other YA and children novels. If anything, there doesn’t appear to be any large collections with books that see the book plot stretch longer than three books, not even in adult genres.

But I may be wrong! Are you reading any books at the moment where the novels stretch out into more than a trilogy? Maybe you’re an author writing a book, and are thinking about fleshing the story out into a series? Will you make yours a trilogy or longer? Comment below!

Liam

4 thoughts on “The Trilogy Problem

  1. I love this post, it is so informative and really gets me thinking about the whole publication process, which many writers often overlook when writing a story or a novel. I am actually editing a trilogy for a friend, and I have found the similar pros and cons of a trilogy that you write about. I have a literary blog, so I’m always interested in learning about other writer’s perspectives.

    Like

    • That’s great! I’m glad you liked it! 😀 Thank you very much for commenting!

      That is true. There are a lot of factors that most writers overlook when it comes to writing a novel, and getting it accepted by agents and publishers.

      Like

  2. I’m personally planning a series with my YA sci-fi book. Reason being … I don’t know, I just really like the characters, I guess. I like the world I’ve created, and I have a lot of fun playing in it. I’m not sure how many books will end up in the series … I’ll probably keep writing them until I get bored with the world and characters, or until the overarching plot comes to a satisfying conclusion. It’s hard to say until I actually get to the end 🙂

    Like

    • That sounds great! All the best! 😀

      Ah, of course! I completely forgot about fantasy/sci-fi! Often that allows for a series – to allow exciting new worlds to be explored, and new fantasy elements to be explained. There’s always something great about how many ideas can be generated from sci-fi and fantasy ideas…

      Again, I wish you the best of luck! Enjoy! 😀

      Like

Think Outside the Box...

