My Blogging Year: 2013

I was beginning to wonder when this would arrive… But today I got the e-mail from the kind people at WordPress describing my blogging year in 2013. So, like I did last year, let’s have a look!

The Fun Facts:
The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 8,200 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

In 2013, there were 260 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 417 posts. There were 99 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 3 MB. That’s about 2 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was January 4th with 140 views. The most popular post that day was Thinking Friday!: What is the Best Quote?.

So this was pretty cool!

The Top 5 Posts of the Year:
These are my top 5 posts that got the most views in 2013…

1. Sherlock: The Three Clues Explained (SPOILERS) – May 2013

2. Dr. Who: 50th Anniversary Predictions (SPOILERS) – May 2013

3. Musical Discovery: Endorphins by Sub Focus feat. Alex Clare – March 2013<

4. imPRESSive: Webisode One – Blog Names and URLs – February 2013

5. Is there anything technology can’t replace? | The Friday Article – February 2013

So this was interesting, and for every one (minus the imPRESSive blog post, which went great and I’m SO glad it’s up there!) it shows that blogging about current affairs helps. I mean, who doesn’t like Sherlock or Doctor Who? A handy little tip to all bloggers!

The Ways People Found Me (without that sounding weird)
People searched mostly for blogging vs vlogging, why are reality shows so popular, and day of the doctor spoilers.

And the top 5 sites that were used to see my posts were:
wordpress.com
twitter.com
tumblr.com
facebook.com
dailypost.wordpress.com

The Places they Viewed From:

This one has a nice info graphic to show, but the text at the bottom still helps…

“104 countries in all! Most visitors came from The United States. The United Kingdom & Canada were not far behind.”

I remember this being quite a lower number last year, and oh my, over 100 countries?! Thank you!

And lastly…The Top 5 Commenters Are…
This has since become a tad bit competitive after last year’s results, where Jackie came first. But will she remain top commenter for another year?

So, in order…

At Number 5 with 16 comments is kanundra!

At Number 4 with 18 comments is Change it Up Editing!

At Number 3 with 22 comments…Oh, this is interesting… It’s last year’s top commenter JackieP!

Now this is where it gets interesting, at Number 2 with 23 comments (one away from 3rd position!), is Richard Leonard!

And lastly, in the number 1 spot with a huge 32 comments is Ellie!

Woah, that’s a lot of comments! Thanks to all 5 of you, and to everyone that’s commented!

And lastly, as I said last year, a big thanks to you for reading, liking, sharing, re-blogging and commenting. It all helps and is very kind of you, so THANK YOU!

If you want to see the report but with very snazzy pictures you can click here to see it in full!

So all that’s left to say is… Happy New Year! And expect to see some more exciting posts in 2014!

Liam

8 thoughts on “My Blogging Year: 2013

  1. Well what a surprise my friend! We’ll make that 33 comments in a year.

    I wish you the very best and keep trudging along with your novel. Eventually the characters come to life and you’ll wish the story never ends – just like life. However, I know that where I’m going after this life ends, is even far better than the one I have now. My very best to you for the upcoming New Year. Your talents will take you far, blessings, Ellie

    Like

  2. So I’m slipping. Oh no! For some reason your posts rarely show up in my reader anymore. I’m so disappointed. Good luck in all you wish for in the coming year Liam! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha! Don’t worry! 2014 is another year! How odd… I’ll have to promote it through other methods as well then! Maybe more Facebooking and Twittering! And you, Jackie! 🙂

      Like

  3. Whoa! 2nd place for comenting! There’s a surprise!
    Apologies for the lateness. I’ve been away with really scratchy internet and outside of that flat out with work and stuff.
    I hope you have a great 2014, Liam! 🙂

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

