The Oddness of Anticipation

Excuse the rather intriguing and odd title, but I’m nervous…

I am of the age where people in the UK receive their GCSE results. The date this year is tomorrow, Thursday 22nd August, 2013. So that, ladies and gentlemen, is what I’m nervous about…

The thing about results like these, or results in general, is that they have an impact on a person one way or another. Grade results for a musical instrument exam have an impact as the results determine whether or not the examiner things you are a certain level of expertise regarding your instrument… But in this case, your future is determined, and for me/us/the UK at least, it is connected to a chain of things for the future…

What I mean by this is that the GCSE results determine whether or not I can continue to Sixth Form (the next level of study), then they determine whether or not I can go to university and so on… Not to mention that they matter when it comes to jobs…

So that is why I’m worried, but as well as that, there’s a psychology to it which I’ve seen happen to some people (yep! You guessed it! I’m doing a psychology post!)…

Some of us (meaning my age, in this current scenario), like to know what’s in store for ourselves further down the line… So in this case, a lot of people want to just go and get the results as soon as possible because it is in them to get rid of anticipation so they can relax, knowing that they know their results.

But yet again, they then fear the unknown, and the sincerity of the situation, and almost don’t want to open it for that reason. This is the reason behind the title, and oddly, it is the same with me…I want my results, but fear the outcome….

But anyway, enough with the worrying, how do I plan to celebrate/not celebrate/panic about the bad results?

Probably with food, to be honest… I love Chinese food and curries, so I am hoping I get one of them (should the results go well), and regarding the results themselves, I wish to do a little dance and party with each result I am pleased with. To summarise, I have a plan…

Overall though, I am confident, since there is certain grades I need to get in order to go and study the things I want to study at A-Level, I am fairly confident I will be accepted onto Sixth Form, but yet again, best not to get my hopes up… We can only wait and see…

Wish me luck!

Liam

Think Outside the Box...

