Has Britain become a ‘rave nation’?

So after recently listening to a lot of music and being involved in music a lot recently, I’ve realised something and have made a conclusion.

Britain has become a RAVE NATION.

Now there is many reasons to back up my conclusion…

1. Notice today’s songs, by which I mean listen to chart shows like The UK Top 40 on Radio 1 and music TV channels. See anything interesting? All best – selling songs these days have electro tunes in them (by the way electro means music along the lines of Calvin Harris, Avicii and Example!)
2. Songs such as Party Rock Anthem, We’ll Be Coming Back and Kickstarts (good songs to check out if you haven’t heard them!) have all reached number ones.
3. Most festivals now consist of a lot of electro bands, and there’s a lot of festivals dedicated to the specific genre.

But it’s not just electro, anything that has a weird tune to it will have people “raving”. Like, for example, the newly evolved genre “dubstep”.

I was quite new to this as well when I first heard about it, and I believe it stands for “Drum and Bass” (why isn’t that called DABstep? – Probably isn’t catchy enough). Now as a drummer and hearing that there was a genre dedicated to the drums I was interested, until I heard the music classified as “dubstep”, which was more a squealing mess than a normal song.

I’m sorry if any of you are dubstep fans but in my opinion, it’s awful, and the only time I like it is when it is on the border of electro. And by the way, dubstep and electro are not similar to each other, at least I think they aren’t. Dubstep’s more like the evil offspring of electro in my opinion.

Anyway, going back to my original topic, I think Britain becoming a “rave nation” with regards to music is cool. It shows how well we respond to music. And isn’t a problem for me because I love electro! But I think other genres such as folk and rock should be given a chance rather than all of the songs these days containing electro.

The Next Popular Genre:

There will come a time in the music world where musical attitude will change and the public will favour another musical genre.

My prediction: folk. This is because recently this year more folk singers have appeared in the charts. We’ve had Mumford and Sons do well with their songs The Cave and I Will Wait, and Of Monsters and Men did well with Little Talks and Mountain Sound.

From this, I have a feeling that folk will be the next thing over. Raves will be a thing of the past soon for the UK.

Do you agree? Comment below!

Liam

6 thoughts on “Has Britain become a ‘rave nation’?

  1. Nooooooo! Just kidding 🙂 But when I think of British music I’m firmly stuck in ’80/’90s Manchester: Joy Division, The Smiths, Oasis. I still live in that time period and have not graduated to electronica, nor do I anticipate doing so.

    You may be right about the folk music. I’m not a huge fan of that, either, but I like it better than a lot of the stuff on Top 40 lists these days.

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

