NaNoWriMo Project 2012: Day… Hang on…

So there we have it, yesterday I completed NaNoWriMo and won. But I officially did it for the first time! (I did do it a couple of years back but not “actually” as I was a bit cautious of uploading your work onto the website). After my whole experience I have learnt many things, the first being that it was so much fun!

The main advantage was that it was so simple! One rule, one thing to do: write a 50,000 word novel, simple. Couldn’t be any harder.

Every writer should do it, sure, you may not get a Nobel Peace Prize because of it, but you get an even better prize – a sense of achievement.

I’d recommend it, it’s serious and fun writing!

Liam

20121130-193910.jpg

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Project 2012: Day… Hang on…

  1. Congrats, Liam!

    I was a bit cautious about uploading my work to the site, too. I thought I saw something about scrambling it before uploading but haven’t found that since I fist saw it.
    I do suspect, however, that at least this year the word count validation was done in Javascript on your browser so it doesn’t actually upload to the NaNo server, but I could be wrong and will be happy to be proven wrong. I can’t test it now because obviously the event has ended. I might pose the question in a forum if/when I can be bothered. If true, they should make a point of this to assure people that their work will not leave their device while validating. 🙂

    Like

    • Great idea! 🙂 I am a strong believer of the term “idea theft” and that it can occur. So I will be uncomfortable if the people at NaNo can access everybody’s uploaded stories and make money from them…

      Like

      • Not sure if anyone at NaNo would be wise in stealing an idea from one of the participants because it would be quite traceable, especially if we put up the title, synopsis and a short extract. Then it’s public knowledge that the idea was yours originally. Not sure, just a thought. 🙂

        Like

      • Yep, interesting thought, but if you make the idea public, then others could see it and right a similar story, there is no copyright, the idea is for the taking…

        Like

Think Outside the Box...

